THE JOURNEY THUS FAR || HAPPY FATHER'S DAY

Firstly, I'll love to say a happy Father's Day to myself, my father, and every father and intending father out there in the world. It's the only day fathers get to be celebrated, and I'm super excited to make the moment worthwhile. Being a father is never really an easy task; it comes with a lot of responsibility and sacrifice, and I'll love to say kudos to each father out there. You guys have been awesome.

IMG_20220107_203209.jpg
I can remember how I regularly get angry whenever my dad isn't able to provide for my needs according to my expectations. I felt I deserved it all, and to be honest, I did, but my dad was a warrior too, a relentless, hardworking man who'll do everything within his capacity to make sure his children get the best, or at least the highest, his capacity can provide.

I failed to see his commitment and impact in making sure I'm fed and as well goes to school when I was younger, but as I grew up and dealt with some fatherly and fatherhood responsibilities myself, I understood his plight and knew how great a task it's to be a father.

Though I haven't fathered a child myself, I can vividly remember when my brother's wife gave birth and his job took him to a faraway place. With no family nearby to ease the burden on the new mother, his wife, I volunteered to help out. Believe me, it wasn't an easy task at all, and those moments can't help but make me wonder if that was how I also stressed out my dad during my childhood days.

IMG_20210613_083359.jpg

I remember how the baby cries a lot and wouldn't even sleep by herself on her bed; the only way she sleeps is by you carrying her on your chest, walking, and singing around the house. That was a draining task to indulge in, especially at midnight, knowing fully well that I'll be going to work the next day. Still, in order not to disturb the mother, I literally stay up for most of the night pacing around the house till she falls asleep.

It wasn't easy at all, and another aspect that isn't really easy is when my dad retired due to old age and had to fend for the family and my younger ones as one of the elders. It wasn't easy working tirelessly only to realize all you get isn't even enough to sustain the family nor meet all of their needs. That helped me look back, remembering how I criticized my dad, and now I can't help but give him kudos.

IMG_20220910_112417.jpg

The good side of all of these journeys is seeing everyone I provide for smile; the joy it gives me is second to none. I literally felt satisfied and fulfilled, knowing fully well that I'm doing my part and that my impact is felt and appreciated.


That's about all on my response to this section of the motherhood community prompt, and I'll love to say a happy father's Day to everywhere father out there.


Thanks so much for your time, have a blessed day ahead.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center