MY EXPERIENCE BATTLING WITH PCOS

For quite some time I had an experience battling with PCOS and because of this I learned a lot about it, my body, and how to overcome this disorder and I would be writing all I have learned below.

4314093.jpg
source

MEANING OF PCOS

Polycystic Ovary Syndrome
In my own understanding is a hormonal disorder that enlarges ovaries with cysts and it produces male sex hormones in the body.

SYMPTOMS

I experienced a lot of symptoms while battling with PCOS without knowing until I got to the hospital.

Some symptoms I struggled with were;

HEAVY MENSTRUATION
Growing up as a young girl, I have always had heavy menstruation, it was so heavy that I used three packs of pads for my period every month, it became worst so I went to the hospital to see a doctor and without running any test on me, he told me nothing was wrong with me and that I was fine and I believed him.

ABSENCE OF MENSTRUATION
This is another symptom I faced immediately after I got married, that same month my period disappeared for months and that was when I knew there was a problem.

WEIGHT GAIN
Growing up I have always worked out but no matter how much I worked out it was difficult losing that much weight. Then I became very busy for a while and I stopped going to the gym, then I began to add weight badly even when I started working out again and dieting, I could hardly lose weight.

INFERTILITY
As for fertility, I couldn't conceive. I tried all I could and also took various fertility drugs, even some had terrible side effects but to no avail.

DEPRESSION
At some point I became depressed, I stopped attending social functions, sadness, hopelessness, and anxiety almost finished me but I had to fight for my life, I started reading books and that brought me out of depression.

TREATMENT

When I went to the hospital, I was given a medication called metformin for over six months but it didn't work for me, I had different side effects taking that drug.

IMG_20210731_094526_691.jpg

DIETING
For me to manage PCOS I was told by my doctor to change my diet and I did.

These are the things I avoided;

  1. Fried foods
  2. Sugary drinks
  3. White bread
  4. Pastries
  5. Pasta
  6. Candy
  7. Ice-creams
  8. Cakes and any food high in carbohydrate, etc.

IMG_20210202_215740_911.jpg

THINGS I STARTED EATING

  1. Greens
  2. Fish
  3. Fruits
  4. Vegetables
  5. Sweet potatoes
  6. Beans
  7. Olive Oil
  8. Spinach
  9. Almonds

IMG_20200519_085522_0.jpg

FINALLY,

I was told to exercise regularly and I did and also I boiled turmeric, guava leaves, ginger, garlic, and lemon for five minutes and drank it first thing in the morning and the last thing at night and in two months my period became normal monthly.

ADVICE

This is to anyone going through any health challenge please don't give up, keep fighting for your health, I know it's not easy but it can be accomplished by God's grace.


THANK YOU FOR READING

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center