First time mom and Anxiety [ENG-ESP]

IMG_20211101_103153.jpg


Greetings to all members of this wonderful comunity, today I would like to touch a subject that I tried avoiding for quite some time, without knowing the harm I was inflicting on myself. Nothing prepares us for motherhood, even if it was desired, there's always the feeling of anxiety in any degree. The doubt of knowing if we are doing a good job and the urge of comparing ourselves to other people.

Un saludo a todos los miembros de esta maravillosa comunidad, el día de hoy quisiera tocar un tema que durante mucho tiempo quise ignorar sin saber el daño que estaba causandome a mi misma. Nada nos prepara para la maternidad, por más deseada que sea siempre está esa sensación de ansiedad en mayor o menor grado. La duda de si estamos haciendo un buen trabajo, y el empeño en compararnos con otras personas.

IMG_20210906_093334.jpg


I always wanted to be a mother, it is something I always knew. As a child when someone asked what I wanted to be when I grew up, I always said I wanted to be a mom. However, when I became an adult I had all kinds of obstacles to achieve it, in fact for a long time I thought it would never happen. My pregnancy was very much desired for a very long time, but came unexpected in a time when I felt the less prepared.

Siempre quise ser madre, es algo que siempre supe. Cuando de pequeña me preguntaban que quería ser de grande siempre contestaba que quería ser una mamá. Sin embargo al convertirme en adulta tuve que atravesar obstáculos hasta finalmente conseguirlo, de hecho durante mucho tiempo pensé que no llegaría a suceder jamás. Mi embarazo fue deseado durante mucho, aunque llegó en el momento menos esperado y en el que menos preparada me sentí.

I gave birth to My daughter with all the love in the world, and despite being aware that my life would change nothing could ever prepare me to face it as a single mother. And I don't mean all the sleepless nights, vaccines, or losing my figure. I mean that little by little I felt how I was losing my identity, what I was, and how I was completely absorbed.

Recibí a mi hija con todo el amor del mundo, y si bien estaba consciente de que mi vida cambiaría nada me hubiese preparado para enfrentarlo y más aún como madre soltera. Con esto no me refiero a noches en vela, las fiebres, las vacunas, o renunciar a mi figura. Sino que poco a poco sentía como iba perdiendo mi identidad, lo que era, y empezaba a ser absorbida por completo.

IMG_20220818_105626.jpg


I was living alone with my chile, and since day one I was on my own with all the chores, at the same tome I didnt want to bother anybody asking for help when I really needed ir. Funny thing is that several friends did offer their support and I just did not take it because I didnt want to seem weak or incapable. I started not feeling like myself, to feel I was just 'the mother of'. And as I mother I felt it was expected that I completely erased who I AM and dedicated 100% to this, which is not healthy at all.

Vivía sola con mi hija, y desde el primer día no contaba con ayuda en los que haceres, y a su vez no quería molestar a nadie pidiendo ayuda por más que la necesitaba. Lo gracioso es que más de una amiga me había ofrecido su apoyo y yo no lo acepte porque no quería parecer débil o incapaz. Empecé a sentirme menos yo, a sentir que era simplemente la 'mamá de'. Y es que como madre sentí que se esperaba que borrara por completo quien soy y me dedicara al cien por ciento, lo cual no es sano en lo absoluto.

Time went by and the numbness increased to a point I felt completely disconected, as if living every single day in autopilot. My friends started to notice, to emphasize that I needed help, to insist that I should hit the breaks nada analize the situación, and it took me two years until I could not take it anymore. That's how I took the resolution to work on My wellbeing, because My daughter deserves to see a happy mom, to have an example of mental health. I started Drawing again, taking long walks, taking a breath and dedicating time to myself. Little by little I have been taking Charge and understanding that My goals are still there, I just need to take other roads now.

El tiempo pasaba y el sopor aumentaba a un punto en qué me sentía desconectada totalmente, como si viviera el día a día en piloto automático. Mis amistades más cercanas empezaron a notarlo, y hacer énfasis en que necesitaba ayuda, a insistir en qué debería poner freno y analizar la situación, cosa que me tomó dos años hasta que finalmente no pude soportarlo más. Fue así como tome la resolución de trabajar en mi bienestar, pues mi hija merecía ver una mamá feliz, un ejemplo de salud mental. Empecé a dibujar de nuevo, a tomar caminatas largas, tomarme un respiro y dedicarme también a mi misma. Poco a poco he tomado las riendas nuevamente y comprendido que las metas siguen allí, que solo debo buscar caminos alternos ahora.

IMG_20221209_092033_412.jpg


Without my friends I would have never acknowledge I was drowning. It's always okay to ask for help, to have an extra hand really makes a difference when situation gets overwhelming. We should never fear expressing our feelings, yo hice ourselves time to organize our thoughts and emotions. To take care of people we need to take care of ourselves first. I still have a long Road ahead of me, but it is my job to look for the tools, my daughter is worth the effort. And if I am well, she will be okay too.

Thank you very much Ford reading this post❤️

Si no hubiese sido por mis amistades no hubiese reconocido jamás que estaba ahogandome en mi misma. Siempre está bien pedir ayuda, valernos de una mano amiga realmente hace la diferencia cuando la situación nos abruma. No hay que temer expresarnos, darnos tiempo de organizar nuestros pensamientos y sentimientos. Para cuidar a los demás debemos empezar por cuidar de nosotras mismas. Aún queda un largo camino que recorrer, pero está en mi buscar las herramientas, mi hija vale el esfuerzo. Y si yo estoy bien, ella también lo estará.

Muchísimas gracias por haberme leído ❤️


IMG-20230828-WA0021.jpg



All Photos were taking by me with My Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 cellphone.

Todas las fotos fueron tomadas por mi con mi teléfono Xiaomi Redmi Note 9.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments