The COMedy Rumble: Those composition letters we wrote then were all lies.

photo-1517971071642-34a2d3ecc9cd.jpeg
Hannah from Unsplash



Happy new week everyone in the Comedy Open Mic community. I hope we are ready for some dose of laughter this week? The contest is almost ending and let's roll together to the end. I have enjoyed and laughed so hard with different entries here and they were amazing.

Yesterday made me remember that moment while we were young and in primary school and we would be told to write a composition about ourselves or our hometown. So many lies we have told and made our teachers believed. So many places we have lied to have been to, whereas we are only in our rooms, imagining them. Isn't that amazing?

Our teachers are just too good to believe all those lies and most times we get it wrong especially when we are told to write a composition about our dogs. Even though we had no dogs then, we still would form a story about our neighbour's dog and make it ours. Still, our teachers would give us 2 over 10.

untitled.gif

“Aunty/Uncle/Miss/Mr, do you know my dog more than I do? Why would you give me that mark after telling you about my dog?”

But we dare not say it out but would be in our mind. At least no one would know what is in our mind when you aren't God who sees the mind.



I helped a lady in marking her students' examination scripts yesterday and I couldn't stop laughing when I was seeing different lies from these 12 - 13years old students.

One of the pupils wrote a composition about himself and said his favourite food is fried rice and chicken. I am sure he hasn't tasted it before because I have been in that shoe too 😅

I have, many times had different favourite foods and instead of writing something about the normal food we eat in the house, I would say “Fried rice and salad is my favourite food”. I got exposed when I read the next question telling us how to write how our mom prepared it for us.

I had to cancel it and quietly wrote rice and beans. 😂😂😂

The student continued and said he hate lying. But he just lied about the food?

untitled.gif



The worst of it all was seeing how a teacher got it all wrong too. I thought teachers are all-knowing and don't make mistakes? As children, we don't believe anyone including our parents even when they are right but we would boldly say “This is not how our aunty taught us”. Our parents would be mad and visit our school the next day. That teacher is in trouble 🤣🤣

I was given some answers as a marking guide for these scripts and I was shocked when I saw the students were all correct but the teacher was all wrong.

This is the question I read.
“Underline the active verb in the following sentences”

I even thought I was wrong myself because I called the lady to see to it and she said I should mark it wrong for the students since that was what the teacher gave to her. She spoke and corrected the teacher but she didn't accept taking corrections.

Will I now mark it all wrong for these innocent children who were right? 🙄

Let me give you an example so you can get me right.

“The black boy killed the snake.”

What should be the action verb? “Killed” right? Since it's an action that is being performed.

Do you know what the teacher wrote?

She said it's “The Black boy” 😂😂😂😂

What kind of thing is this na? Teachers are leaders but this one don fumble (she has fucked up)

Let me give you another example.

“Alicia drove the car away”

The teacher said Alicia is the action verb

I have seen it all already 🤣🤣🤣🤣

We have been deceived by our teachers when we were young. Thank God for passing through University 😂😂😂

Thanks for reading

Gifs from Peakd frontend

This is my entry to The COMedy Rumble Contest for the last week.

I am inviting @jane1289 and @gingerup to come and participate.

20220415_174258_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency