MY VISIT TO THE NIGERIAN CORRECTIONAL SERVICE

I imagined spending years of my life in prison awaiting trial, a similar thought to what I see in the movies. But it dawned on me it was reality when I paid a visit to the Nigerian Correctional Service by Barracks road on Tuesday, 20th of August, 2024.

Approaching the main entrance in the morning, the prison did not look like what I thought it to be in my head: the roads were tarred, the grasses were trimmed and the environment was neat. On arrival, we were told not to go in with our phones because phones were not allowed inside. Meanwhile, those who were with their phones were told to submit it to the security.

Walking down the aisle, approaching the Medium Security Custodial Center, I was given a pass card to go and see the prisoners. I did not go alone as I went along with three aunties and two uncles from my church. I heard sound of rolling drums, like a ceremony was ongoing. I became so curious, why the playing and sounds of drums in the prison. I was so eager to find out, so I hurriedly took my gate pass from the security and wore it on my neck as a jewelry.

I could not believe my eyes when I beheld the male and female prisoners playing ball even under the rain. Wow, in the prison? Immediately I just muttered “these people are enjoying o”.
These guys did not even look pale at all. They wore smiles on their faces as though it was a makeup, they looked so happy, healthy- I mean full flesh and they were so cheerful. You may be trying to figure out where they were playing the football game, was it outside or inside? Is someone saying to himself or herself, I thought the prison only had prison wards for the prisoners and maybe a urinary and that’s all.

Don’t conclude yet, I’m here to give you a shocking news that the prison where I visited has a very big field, between the female ward by my left and the male ward by my right hand side. The most shocking thing is that there were about five hundred and fifty-five thousand persons awaiting trial while about five inmates were for death roll.
At this juncture permit me to bring your attention to what it means for an individual to be awaiting trial. This means that the accused person was arrested and put in prison but the offended person has not yet filed a case on this person and the Chief Judge cannot pass judgment when the criminal case has not yet been brought to the honorable court. This person has not started life yet because the chief judge has not passed judgment on him or her yet. Yet they exuded so much joy and happiness.
It dawned on me that happiness is not what is happening around you but happiness is in you. Therefore, no matter what is happening around you, condition yourself to be happy.

Thank you for reading through. Feel free to make comments.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments