Winter Route/Ruta Invernal[ENG/ESP]

Today I'm going to tell you about a little adventure I had on the 24th of November 2019, I needed to clear my head and I set off on a solo route with my trusty motorbike. It was quite early, it was quite cold so I prepared my heated gloves. These gloves have built-in batteries and are quite warm, they are very good for these times of the year, besides the bike has heated grips (the handlebars are heated) along with the handrails that help to deflect the wind, make riding in winter more enjoyable.

Hoy os voy a contar una pequeña aventura que viví un 24 de noviembre del 2019,necesitaba despejarme y emprendí una ruta en solitario con mi fiel moto. Era bastante temprano, hacia bastante frio así que me prepare mis guantes calefactables. Estos guantes llevan unas baterías incorporadas y calientan bastante, van muy bien para estas épocas del año, aparte la moto lleva puños calefactables (el manillar se calienta) junto con los parámanos que ayudan a desviar el viento, hacen que montar en invierno se haga mas ameno.

1667414045632.jpg

Garibaldiheated gloves / Guantes calefactables marca Garibaldi

My goal was to see snow, so I decided to go to the Pyrenees on the French border.

Mi objetivo era ver nieve, así que me plantee ir hasta los pirineos frontera con Francia.

Captura.JPG

This route is quite fun, full of curves and amazing scenery. It's a road I know by heart, so there was no problem getting lost. I went to fill up with petrol and started my way north.

Past Murillo de Gallego and leaving aside the mallos de Riglos (some pretty incredible rock formations), we arrived at the Peña reservoir, a beautiful reservoir with a rather curious metal bridge.

Esta ruta es bastante divertida, está llena de curvas y de paisajes alucinantes. Es una carretera que me la sé de memoria, así que no había problemas de perderme. Fui a repostar gasolina y emprendí mi camino hacia el norte.

Pasado murillo de gallego y dejando de lado los mallos de Riglos (unas formaciones rocosas bastante increíbles), llegamos al embalse de la peña, un bonito pantano con un puente de metal bastante curioso.

1667411435116.jpg

1667411435166.jpg

Just before crossing the bridge there is a small viewpoint./Justo antes de atravesar el puente hay un pequeño mirador.

It was quite early when I got to this part of the stage, 9:00am or so, so there was hardly any traffic, as with the cold weather at this time of day the roads are more dangerous as there can be some ice. So I allowed myself the luxury of getting off at the bridge and taking a couple of quick photos, I always wanted to do that and this was my chance.

Era bastante temprano cuando llegue a esta parte de la etapa, las 9:00Am mas o menos, así que apenas había trafico, ya que con el frio a estas horas las carreteras son mas peligrosas ya que puede haber algo de hielo. Entonces me permití el lujo de bajarme en el puente y hacer un par de fotos rápidas, siempre lo quise hacer y esta era mi oportunidad.

1667411403534.jpg

1667411435068.jpg

La Peña reservoir bridge/Puente del embalse de la peña.

Just across the bridge there is a small, fairly inexpensive restaurant where you can have lunch, they have a very cheap biker lunch, about 6€ drink and coffee included. You can order lunch with various types of meat, I chose sausage, accompanied by a couple of fried eggs and fried potatoes.

Nada mas cruzar el puente hay un pequeño restaurante bastante económico donde poder almorzar, tienen un almuerzo motero muy barato, unos 6€ bebida y café incluidos. El almuerzo lo puedes pedir con varios tipos de carne, yo elegí longaniza, acompañada de un par de huevos fritos y patatas fritas.

1667411403448.jpg

Photo at the door of the restaurant El jabalí/Foto en la puerta del restaurante El jabalí.

1667411403491.jpg

Eggs fried with potatoes and sausage from Restaurante el Jabali/Huevos fritos con patatas y longaniza del Restaurante el Jabali.

After lunch I continued on my way through the port of Santa Barbara and headed towards Jaca, a pretty touristy town that I recommend visiting, I went around it as it was not a planned stop and took the route north. The weather was getting worse little by little, a storm was coming but it was so close that I didn't turn back, it started to snow but that didn't stop me. Then I arrived at Canfranc station, it is a small village next to Canfranc and houses an old train station, very famous and frequented in the past, now it has been refurbished and transformed into a Hotel.

Después de almorzar continúe mi camino atravesando el puerto de santa bárbara y dirigiéndome hacia Jaca, un bonito pueblo bastante turístico que recomiendo visitar, lo rodee ya que no era una parada prevista y tome ruta hacia el norte. El tiempo iba empeorando poco a poco, avecinaba tormenta pero estaba tan cerca que no retrocedí, empezó a nevar pero eso no me detuvo. Entonces llegue a Canfranc estación, es un pequeño pueblo al lado de Canfranc y alberga una antigua estación de tren muy famosa y frecuentada antiguamente, ahora la han reformado y transformada en Hotel.

1667411403405.jpg

Canfranc Station next to my Suzuki B-King/Estación de Canfranc junto a mi Suzuki B-King.

1667411370927.jpg

As you can see, it was starting to get snowy, but it was still possible to drive on the road. I continued on the road, more and more snowy areas could be seen, then I felt like stopping and taking some photos, I love to take pictures of the areas I pass through, and it had been a long time since I had seen snow. So I stopped and took a picture of the moment.

Como veis ya empezaba a haber partes nevadas pero se podía circular perfectamente. Continúe la carretera, cada vez se veían mas zonas nevadas, entonces me entraron ganas de parar y hacer alguna foto que otra, me encanta retratar zonas por las que paso, y hacia bastante tiempo que no veía nieve. Así que pare y retrate el momento.

1667411333596.jpg

1667411333690.jpg

1667411299031.jpg

1667411299118.jpg

1667411333550.jpg

After the short stop I continued towards my destination France!!!, the weather was getting worse and there was more and more snow but the landscape that opened before my eyes was incredible, so I had to stop if I had to.

Después de la pequeña parada continúe hacia mi destino ¡¡Francia!!, el tiempo empeoraba y cada vez había mas nieve pero el paisaje que se abría ante mis ojos era increíble, así que tenia que parar si o si.

1667411197015.jpg

1667411197073.jpg

The road was getting more and more dangerous but that didn't stop me, I have been in similar or worse situations, and my destination was just a few kilometres away, fascinated by such a snowy landscape, a smile was on my face. I started and little by little I kept going, going up towards the top of the mountain where the Somport pass was, now there is a tunnel that crosses the mountain where the traffic is easier, and by this road you can get to different ski slopes and to the old border. When I got to the top there was a snow plough, when they saw me they gestured me not to continue, I am not crazy enough to go down the pass to the other side of the border so as soon as I got there I stopped, it was already too dangerous

La carretera se ponía cada vez mas peligrosa pero eso no me detuvo, he estado en situaciones parecidas o peores, y mi destino lo tenia ya a pocos kilómetros, fascinado con semejante paisaje nevado una sonrisa se dibujaba en mi cara. Arranque y poco a poco seguí avanzando, subiendo hacia el alto de la montaña donde estaba el puerto de Somport, ahora hay un túnel que atraviesa la montaña donde facilita el trafico, y por esta carretera puedes llegar a diferentes pistas de esquí y a la antigua frontera. Cuando llegue arriba estaba la maquina quitanieves, al verme me hicieron gestos de que no continuase, no estoy tan loco como para bajar el puerto hacia el otro lado de la frontera así que en cuanto llegue me detuve, ya era demasiado peligroso.

1667411197143.jpg

Selfie with the France poster in the background/Selfie con el cartel de Francia al fondo.

1667413957935.jpg

French border/Frontera de Francia.

1667411298900.jpg

French border with snow plough in the background/Frontera de Francia con el quitanieves al fondo.

1667411298943.jpg

French border, tyres full of snow, zero grip/Frontera de Francia, ruedas llenas de nieve, cero adherencia.

As you can see it is a totally wintry landscape, it is not advisable to ride on a road in this state and even less so with tyres that are not suitable for it, but my madness and I do things like this, the descent was more dangerous as braking a little too much can lead you to kiss the ground. After my feat I went straight home, enjoying the ride and thinking about my next adventure. The bike was a mess as at this time of year they fill the roads with salt to prevent them from freezing, so I had to wash it as salt is bad for the metal of the bike.

Como veis es un paisaje totalmente invernal, no es recomendable circular por una carretera en este estado y menos con unas ruedas no aptas para ello, pero mis locuras y yo hacen que hagamos cosas como esta, la bajada fue mas peligrosa ya que frenar un poco de mas puede llevarte a besar el suelo. Después de mi hazaña me fui directo a casa, disfrutando del camino y pensando en mi próxima aventura. La moto quedo hecha un desastre ya que en esta época llenan las carreteras de sal para evitar que se hielen, así que tuve que lavarla ya que la sal es mala para los metales de la moto.

1667411196938.jpg

As you can see, this is what the bike looks like/Como veis así quedo la moto.

Well, ending this post I thank you if you have come this far, and I hope you have enjoyed my little adventure. I will continue publishing my adventures and I hope you like them

Bueno finalizando este post os agradezco si habéis llegado hasta aquí, y espero que os haya gustado mi pequeña aventura. Seguiré publicando mis aventuras y espero que sea de vuestro gusto.
See you again!! ¡¡Hasta otra!!


Instagram


All my photos are my property and are taken from my xiaomi mobile phone and may be posted on one of my social networks.// Todas mis fotos son de mi propiedad y estan hechas desde mi movil xiaomi y pueden que esten publicadas en alguna red social mia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center