Solo Journey to Batu Caves - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Hi traveler around the world...

Batu Caves is one of the most famous destinations in Kuala Lumpur, so when I had the chance to go to Kuala Lumpur, I didn't miss Batu Caves. When I arrived in Kuala Lumpur early in the morning, I did an early check-in, even though I had to pay for 1 night, I needed more energy to go to Batu Caves. When I saw it on the maps on my phone, the distance might be quite far if reached by public transportation.

This is my journey to Batu Caves, which I named Lost in Kuala Lumpur.


Batu Caves, Selangor


To go to Batu Caves, people on the internet suggested using public transportation, the train. So when I got out of the hostel, the first thing I looked for was the train station. I needed to walk for a few minutes before I found the train station which was right next to a mall. Even though I didn’t have a train card, I could still use the train by buying a token at a vending machine. This was a unique way because the token—which looked more like a water bottle cap—was a new thing. When I was in Singapore, taking the commuter line was easy because I just tapped my Visa card. It’s okay, this is the challenge of vacation, and I enjoy it!

The train line in Kuala Lumpur is a bit difficult because all activities are centered around one big station, KL Sentral Station. So when I left the nearest station, to reach Batu Caves, I had to go to KL Sentral first. There aren’t many transit stations in Kuala Lumpur, it’s just KL Sentral, so wherever you’re going, if it’s not on the same line, you have to go to KL Sentral first.



When I first entered the Batu Caves entrance from the train station exit, I was immediately greeted by a large statue of Lord Hanuman. Next to the statue of Lord Hanuman is the Sri Subramaniar Swamy Temple whose stairs have two colors, namely pink and blue. I was amazed to see the combination of colors. I did not dare to enter it because this is a place of worship for another religion, and I was a bit reluctant to enter it.


Kartik Swamy Temple


I then moved from the temple and moved to the most iconic place in Batu Caves, namely the Murugan statue (Kartik Swamy Temple). It is a statue that is no less large than the Hanuman Statue that we saw earlier.

According to the source listed, the statue is a statue of Lord Murugga which is 140 feet tall. This statue is certainly a landmark that anyone who sees it does not need to ask where it is, everyone can definitely guess that it is Batu Caves.

Uniquely, around this area, many pigeons are flying low. In addition to the pigeons that will gather if someone feeds them, there are also monkeys that roam freely around the temple. I was of course very afraid of these monkeys so I only focused on the statue of Lord Murugga. I didn't even go up the stairs to Batu Caves because I was afraid, no one could guarantee my safety so I only played around Lord Murugga.

Tourists are very happy to see the pigeons. It will make a beautiful photo and video if they record it. I even had time to tease the pigeons by running so they would fly.

My favorite part is the cliffs behind these sacred temples. They are very beautiful cliffs and still natural.

In addiction, the Murugan statue that stands firmly is the tallest statue in Malaysia and the second tallest statue in the world after the Murugan statue in Tamil Nadu, India. The Murugan statue in Batu Caves was also built by Tamils ​​living in Malaysia, so it is no wonder that this area is filled with Indians, especially Tamils. This is a source of pride for them, far from their country India, but having a Murugan statue makes them feel like they are in India. So did I when I went there. I felt like I was in India.

This is my solo journey to Batu Caves, another thing that I love about Batu Caves is the hawker who sells Pani Puri. By that Hawker I can eat my first Pani Puri.


Thanks in advance, to read my blog and hope you like my post!
See you on the next post...




Vivie Hardika

Hi, Halo, Annyeong! Welcome to my galaxy.

I have so much imagination in my head. Something that I can't achieve as a human and as a girl. So writing is very challenging. Since Junior High School, I have written whatever I want to write. Without skill, I just write what I want to read. Now I have 12th published novels and all of those are romance.
Yeah, I proudly say that I am a passionate author, traveler wannabe, and blogger.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center