Exquisite Apartment at Superb Rate on the Caribbean Coast in Colombia

No, I did not travel to Colombia all of a sudden! However, a friend of mine did, on his cycling journey across the continent. On his way he spent two nights in Santa Marta, at an apartment my sister is helping to manage. He is really particular about appearing online, which is why I helped him to connect to the place, and so I thought I might as well post a bit more about this amazing apartment, all from the point of view of this touring cyclist:

IMG_0827.JPG

Dirty Cyclists Are Welcome

My greatest worry about renting a high-end apartment in a luxurious vacation spot, was how I would be received as a bicycle tourist. Being covered with sweat and dirt from the road, many people tend to see me as homeless, which I technically am, notwithstanding the thousands of kilometers I have ridden. Not so at the Reserva del Mar Apartments in Santa Marta, where walking through the fancy lobby in my bike helmet and pedal shoes did not cause the slightest bit of a stir. On the contrary, the staff at the reception was super friendly and accommodating. They had my reservation on file right away, and equipped me with the bracelet that would give me access to the pool and other facilities. - I promised them I would shower first. - One staff member even showed me to the storage locker where I could keep my bike safe without having to take it up to the 16th floor, where the apartment was located. Just perfect.

8D940F29-5280-47FE-9934-6EFBE18A0CE2.jpeg

High Above the Coast

One thing that struck me immediately, was the incredible view from the apartment. Beyond the high-rises of the city, the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains were beckoning me to explore them, which would be my next destination. But first I made myself comfortable, enjoying a shower that was way overdue. The bathroom, just as the rest of the place, was nicely made and pretty new, with excellent water pressure and temperature, which felt nice in spite of the tropical heat. The complementary shampoo and towels made me feel like I was in a hotel. After my shower I opened all the windows wide to enjoy the warm breeze, and then kept them open for the entire two days I was there. At first I was a bit worried about mosquitoes, but I guess they don't make it up to the 16th floor, as I didn't even see one.

IMG_0837.JPG

Shared Facilities for Meeting Others

After getting settled in, I went out to check out what my magic bracelet would grant me access to. Naturally I started out with the roof, which has a very pleasant common area with a pool, several jacuzzis, and a barbecue area. There I met a group of vacationers from Bogotá, who were also keen cyclists, though they had arrived by car. Still, sharing my journey with them did not just result in mere admiration, but something we could all relate to. I bet I even inspired a couple of them to undertake such a cross-continental trip themselves. After soaking in the hot tub, they invited me for the barbecue they were going to have, grilling the fish they had just bought at the local fish market, just a few minutes walk from the building. I offered to pull my weight as well, and went out to look for a place to buy some beer. Right outside I found a mini market to do just that, so I was back at the barbecue area with the beer even before the guys returned with the fish. The meal was delicious, and we ended up hanging out and chatting till late.

6CC43C76-4CF9-4F2F-BBBA-29DCD6C6BD63.jpeg

Exploring the Area on Foot and by Bike

The next day I was awakened by the rays of the morning sun, as it rose above the mountains in the east. I still had some of my trail mix for breakfast, but I was out of coffee, so I was quite pleased to find complementary coffee in the apartment. This was even better than a hotel! After enjoying my coffee on the balcony, while taking in more of the spectacular view, I headed downstairs for a dip in the sea. The beach was fairly empty, and after a brief swim I was ready to explore the area. At first I walked around the vicinity of the building, checking out the mangroves along the river, just behind it. Soon, however, I felt I had exhausted what the local streets would offer, so I went to get my bike and go on a day trip. Though it may not be exactly walking distance, by bike I could easily explore the nearby town of Gaira, with its diversity of luxury hotels to humble barrios, as well as pubs, restaurants, parks, and shopping centers. I took the opportunity to visit a supermarket to stock up on food, so I would be ready to head out towards the mountains the next day.

10468933-1D78-4433-BE71-51385F31B414.jpeg

Wonderful Stay at an Incredible Rate

In the evening I took advantage of the apartment's laundry machine to wash all my clothes, while making use of the internet connection to take care of some inevitable online duties. The WiFi signal was strong everywhere, including on the balcony. I also took a chance to look over my finances, and I was pleased to see that during my stay here I spent about fifty bucks US in total, roughly half of it on food and beer. All things considered, renting this apartment was a fantastic bargain! Sure, I have to admit it's off season, plus I got a bit of a discount as well, but simply the view would make it cost twice as much. Also, in Latin America it is not unusual for certain things to be out of order, unavailable, or simply not up to standard, none of which was the case here. All in all, the location, the amenities, the gigantic bed, the stylish kitchen, and the internet all add up to an exceptional deal. The rooftop pool and barbecue area are an icing on the cake.

IMG_0828.JPG

Visit the AirBNB Listing

So, this was my friend's impression of the apartment, and now I feel like visiting it too. If you are also planing to stay in Santa Marta, Colombia, whether for work or vacation, alone or in groups of up to eight, why not try this place? If you got interested, check out its listing on Airbnb, and feel free to contact its host Ricardo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now