Share Our World: Atlanta Botanical Garden

If you are going to Atlanta, Georgia this garden is wonderful!

I spent a couple of hours here in early June. Since I was visiting in the summer and I am a morning person I went right when it opened and the weather was still cool enough. By 11am it was warm.

Interesting to me is how many mom's were pushing their children in strollers around the garden. The more I thought about it what a beautiful 30 acres to get your exercise!

Map of Garden

There are so many areas of interest in this garden.

Earth Goddess

I went in an just wandered around. The first area that I came to that was particularly interesting was Earth Goddess.

It is also a water feature and was so peaceful I sat and enjoyed the sound of the water and the beauty of the sculpture and the green all around me.

According to the sign next to the exhibit:

This is a living sculpture that was installed in 2013 and is 20 feet tall. It weighs nearly 29 tons and holds more than 18,000 individual plants that are trimmed weekly to maintain the flowing lines.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/C4Mtsib3Y_8


Garden in Storza Woods

I headed out to the Storza Woods area to see Chihuly. It was delighted by the beautiful wooded area and this great water feature.

Saffron Tower

This is a stunning yellow glass piece by Dale Chihuly. It was installed in the garden in 2021 and is the third permanent Chihuly piece in the garden.

You are able to get up close and walk around the tower and reflection pool. and on the 4th picture you can see it from the sky walk too!

Kendeda Canopy Walk

This was a very unique feature to this garden. We got to walk up high in the canopy of the trees.

In addition to seeing Chihuly's Saffron Tower you could also see Earth Goddess from up high.

Parterre Fountain

The other Chihuly piece that I found is the Parterre Fountain. In contrast to the Saffron Tower this fountain piece is in a very formal part of the garden closer to the conservatory. It was made for the garden in 2004, the same year they had Chihuly in the Garden.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/qP2-jqbKLB4

Magnolia Tree

Look at this enormous magnolia tree. The flowers are gorgeous.

Fuqua Conservatory

This beautiful structure has an awesome reflecting pond in front with water lilies and a very large collection of orchids, both plants I don't see much in Arizona and a real treat!

Water lilies

Orchids


Skyline Garden

The Skyline Garden also had some waterlilies.

Trolls Save the Humans

Trolls Save the Humans is the current art installation by Thomas Dumbo at the garden. I am not the biggest fan of trolls. I did take a few pictures.

Cost:
Adult $26.95
Child (3-12) $23.95
There is a cost to park too.

I was able to get in for free with my annual membership to the Desert Botanical Garden, using the Reciprocal Admissions Program, which is a system in America which gardens let you in with other garden memberships. So cool!

It is well worth the admission to wander around this garden oasis!

Sources:
Atlanta Botanical Garden
Radiant Icicle Tower

Share Our World Series

2021 posts are here 4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)
All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments