San Antonio, Texas aka The Alamo City

I've lived in Texas my whole life. I was born in a small town in the Rio Grande Valley, which many call "The Tip of Texas" along the southern border. I spent my teen and young adult years living in the Houston area. Then in the early 2000's I moved to San Antonio and quickly realized it was the best of a big city and small town all rolled into one.
San Antonio sign downtown by the Alamo.jpg
While San Antonio is the 7th largest city in the United States, you would never know it by the warm and friendly way locals treat friends and strangers alike.

How did I wind up here after having lived in the 4th largest city in the U.S.? Houston was a great city to spend my 20's starting a family. So much culture, museums, and a truly global population. There is a lot to love about Houston, but being the 4th largest city means there are large population challenges. Take driving across town. You know without a doubt you will probably spend a lot of time in traffic. You can drive for one hour and still be within the Houston city limits. Plus it was very much every man for himself/dog eat dog sort of vibe. It became exhausting so by the time I hit my 30's I wanted a change. And San Antonio looked like it just might be the right fit. I was right.

Spend any amount of time in San Antonio and you'll be charmed by the people, delicious cuisine, the history, and the overall vibe which makes this historic town the top tourist destination in the state. San Antonio may be known for the famous, "Remember the Alamo!" battle cry which galvanized Texans to fight for their independence. However, I'd venture to say, after a visit you'll take home treasured memories and a yearning to return once again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now