My Japan Trip - Enjoying The Nature In Nikko (Part 3)

20230830_122212.jpg

Hello there! It's my third post in the new World Map Pin community! Trying to do the tag as well! If you haven't read about them, please take a look at this link.

As background, I have done a few overseas trips last year, as some of my friends here would know, and I have been wanting to share some of the interesting places that I have visited. However, life has been busy and I have been procrastinating penning these entries and recently, I revisited this target of mine and finally broke the inertia!

One of my memorable trips in 2023 was to Tokyo, Japan, and during that trip, I did quite a few day trips to nearby cities and towns. Earlier this year, I wrote about visiting the peaceful Karuizawa, the scenic Atami, and a little about Nikko. In this post, I will continue on my journey in Nikko.


In the last post, we visited the amazing Toshogu Shrine, which was massive. Next up, we continued our walking journey towards Futarasan Shrine. This shrine was smaller in scale and it's quieter and more peaceful because there seemed to be less tourists. Here's the pathway leading up to the entrance of the shrine, and the gate thereafter. Enjoy the photos below!

20230830_134622.jpg

20230830_134700.jpg

20230830_134959.jpg

20230830_134804.jpg

I thought this set of lanterns look pretty interesting, even though I am not too sure what they symbolise.
20230830_134851.jpg

A gold bunny for you? I can't read the Japanese words but I am guessing it's something related to wealth and abundance because of the colour and animal?
20230830_135031.jpg

After a day of walking, we found a nice little cafe which had Japanese coffee. We ordered coffee and a cake/dessert to enjoy while our legs got some well-needed rest. Japanese coffee tasted different from the usual lattes and americanos in Western cafes like Starbucks so it's a new experience.
20230830_142611.jpg

With our legs somewhat rested, we took a short walk in the surroundings to enjoy the scenery along the river. It's quite therapeutic to soak in the sights and sounds of the nature, and hearing the river water flow down. It was a great ending to our day trip to Nikko, and we took a last look at the amazing scenery before taking the train back to Tokyo.
20230830_160304.jpg

With that, that's all for my sharing for Nikko for the third and final part. The UNESCO World Heritage Site definitely did not disappoint! Let me know in the comments if you have been to Nikko, and what are your thoughts about this place? Stay tuned to find out where I will be travelling to next!

Finally, thanks for reading my post in the community under World Map Pin! More to come I promise! :)

P.S. I have also tried to document my posts in one table so it's easy to reference too!


My Japan Trip
Visiting The Peaceful KaruizawaLink
Admiring The Scenic Atami (Part 1)Link
Admiring The Scenic Atami (Part 2)Link
Enjoying The Nature In Nikko (Part 1)Link
Enjoying The Nature In Nikko (Part 2)Link
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center