Where do broken hearts go? | Sagada, Philippines

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (4).png


In my last post, I narrated how I reached Sagada, Mountain Province from Vigan, Ilocos Sur. Today, I'll take you in a quick tour in Sagada.


The coziest and coldest homestay in Sagada

It was already dark when Grace and I reached Sagada town proper. Although we already booked a homestay ahead, it was a few kilometers away from the town's center. Thankfully, the driver of the van knew where Misty Lodge and Cafe is and he was headed in that direction.

This trip took place a few years ago but I just love narrating and recalling each detail of the event all over again. The homestay is nothing big but it's spacious, homey, and above everything else, it's all made from polished wood. The moment I walked in, I can hear a little voice in my head saying: This looks like your dream house! šŸ˜

Below are some photos I took of the common areas in the house.

GOPR3850.jpg

GOPR3853.jpg

GOPR3854.jpg

GOPR3851.jpg

Sagada is located in the mountainous part of the country, consequently you don't need an aircondition here. You might need a heater and layers of blankets tho! Lights off in a few minutes; we're off to see Sagada the following morning.

Morning came and the first thing I did is open the window to allow the cold breeze to hug me tight. At this point, I remember how excited I was to explore more. If I'm already happy by just opening the window, what more if we already explore Sagada's gems.

GOPR3858.jpg

GOPR3859.jpg

Some photos of our room.

GOPR3861.jpg

GOPR3863.jpg


Echo Valley and the Hanging Coffins

First stop, Tourism Office!

What I love in Sagada is that their tourism operation is centralized (not sure if this holds true until now). But back then, you have to register and they'll assign a guide for you. It's a win-win; I get to have a trusted tour guide and they get to have a source of livelihood.

I have a bad memory so there's no way I could remember names of people I met along the way such as our guide but I can remember that he was energetic and jolly; he was entertaining with all the stories about Sagada's history.

Before I forget to mention, this is a walking tour. If you want to experience the bests of the Philippines, sometimes you gotta endure walking for hours on end. First, he toured us around Echo Valley where we had to walk across the town's cemetery. It was a gothic start to our Sagada walking tour but then this sharp rock formation somehow balanced it. We were our way to the hanging coffins when passed by this spot. Grace and I kept checking if Echo Valley lives up to its name. Yup, it does.

GOPR3915.jpg

GOPR3916.jpg

IMG20180306140202.jpg

After just a few minutes, we descended into the valley and reached the hanging coffins. This has been a long tradition not just in Sagada but in other Provinces in the Philippines and other countries in Asia, too. It is believed that the higher the coffins containing the remains of the dead are hanged, the higher the chances of them experiencing a better life after death.

IMG20180306142337.jpg

We were on our way to our next destination when we passed by this cave's opening. The year prior to our visit, there were series of cave mishaps that led to a number of deaths in Sagada's caves and cave connections. This and on top of the undeniable fact that I'm just scared of caves to begin with, we didn't explore any caves in Sagada.

IMG20180306145311.jpg

GOPR3924.jpg

GOPR3923.jpg

In the afternoon, we went to Bokong falls but sadly, I couldn't retrieve at least a single photo. It was a long walking tour but absolutely worth it, I'd recommend you do the same if you visit Sagada in the future!


St. Mary's Episcopal Church

We ended earlier than I thought so Grace and I had a lot of free time right before sunset. We sat by the open basketball court near St. Mary's Episcopal Church where teenage boys were playing. There's also a school nearby and students were flocking in the court right after class.

It's my first and only time to visit an Episcopal Church. I was hesitant at first because I don't know if what I'm wearing is allowede inside; I'm in my printed white shirt and black shorts.

IMG20180306163750.jpg

Outside St. Mary's is a huge green lawn where tall pinetrees lined up. It was the perfect time to be where we were. The sun was slowly setting and its golden glow make the Sagada experience unforgettable.

IMG20180306164728.jpg

IMG20180306164857.jpg

Grace and I making the most of the remaining hours of the day! šŸ˜

GOPR3938.jpg

IMG20180306164721.jpg

IMG20180306164915.jpg

IMG20180306165648.jpg

IMG20180306164934.jpg

GOPR3936.jpg

That's it for today! In the next posts, we'll explore the favorite spots of brokenhearted people and Sagada's grandest waterfall! Stay tuned!

šŸŽ‰Happiest new year to all! šŸŽ‰


IMG_20190518_173638.jpg

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that thereā€™s no limit to oneā€™s potential. Right now, sheā€™s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes thereā€™s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where thereā€™s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ā¤ļø

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center