2 Yellow Raincoats on a Foggy Mountain in Chiang Mai - Part I

September in Thailand is known for being all rainy and swampy, especially in my hometown, Chiang Mai. Here in Thailand, we don't have spring nor autumn. What we do have (and trust me, it's obvious) is rainy season.

Hey there! Welcome to #NomNomTraveller where I'll take you to my random journeys throughout this world. I'm NomNomNoodle, born ,raised and super proud to show you around. Let's go~

S__4579330.jpg

I was staying here in my hometown, Chiang Mai and one of my very good and closest friends got a chance to come visit. Thus, we planned to have a nice day trip up in the mountain and the city. First, we rented a car (with a driver) and went up to "Doi Inthanon", the highest point of Thailand. It took us around one and a half hours to get there from the city.

Do you see the sign?
SharedScreenshot.jpg

As we arrived, the bigger sign is easily seen.
IMG_1017.jpg

Yay! We made it here. It's raining so we got matching yellow raincoats.
IMG_1020.jpg

IMG_1023.jpg

There's a wooden walk way that you can walk through and enjoy the misty, wet weather. Good thing is it's nice and cold. This is my friend, happy gal in a raincoat.

IMG_1027.jpg

IMG_1036.jpg

Brr~ I'm colddddd. The raincoat is good for the rain, but not the cold. I guess the cold does bother me a bit.

IMG_1048.jpg

It's a short walk to the meeting point, at the end of the walk way. It's 11 Celsius. I know it's not that cold, but for us tropical people. It's nice to feel the cold.

IMG_1072.jpg

After that we walked across into another walkway in the nature, called "Ang Ka". Me and my friend enjoyed this so much. We always love the vibe of nature and forest.

IMG_1080.jpg

The β€˜Ang Ka Nature Trail’ is 360 meters long, passing through wet and cold areas in a lush valley.
IMG_1084.jpg

That day was extra special with a little mist and a little fog just simply makes the vibe even more mysterious.

IMG_1090.jpg

IMG_1099.jpg

Apart from enjoying the forest ambient, you'll get to read these informative signs along the way. It'd be a great place to learn about nature.

IMG_1094.jpg

IMG_1100.jpg

Here you can read about the plants "Sphagnum Moss", which has such important role in a rainforest like this. This moss acted as a reservoir of the forest. They're like a blanket that covers all trees but more than a blanket, they act as a living sponge owing to its quality of reducing moisture and absorbing water.


IMG_1107.jpg

IMG_1105.jpg

Here people love to come observe the birds too. Some would camp out for days just to get a glimpse of them.

Unfortunately, my friend and I don't have that kind of time (and patience, really) so we just took turn taking pictures of each other and together.

IMG_1029.jpg

IMG_1033.jpg


Last picture of this post is this nice misty photo that I took in Ang Ka. You can almost feel and smell it, right?

IMG_1102.jpg

That'd be the part one of the day trip that I'll tell you guys about. Stay tuned for the next one and until then..

Stay hydrated and keep loving nature, everyone!

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center