Newcastle Museum, New South Wales. Australia


I do like a good Museum, this one is pretty small but had some interesting stuff that gave a great history lesson on the way things used to be in the area.
I do like a good Museum, this one is pretty small but had some interesting stuff that gave a great history lesson on the way things used to be in the area.

Entrance is free. A great little outing when the rain is falling.
Entrance is free. A great little outing when the rain is falling.

How things have changed!
How things have changed!

A good selection of old tin, jar and bottles.
A good selection of old tin, jar and bottles.

My first job was at a food super market, I had to learn the cash register till that had 4 rows of buttons, not quiet as old as the one pictured. Mine did not have the handle on the side as it was plugged into the power but it amazing I can me I can still remember how it worked. The first row of buttons was the department, next row was dollars and the last two rows tens of cents and then cents.
My first job was at a food super market, I had to learn the cash register till that had 4 rows of buttons, not quiet as old as the one pictured. Mine did not have the handle on the side as it was plugged into the power but it amazing I can me I can still remember how it worked. The first row of buttons was the department, next row was dollars and the last two rows tens of cents and then cents.

Models, maybe that is another reason I really like museums, I have had and built many types of model planes boats and ships over the years. I still have a few in the cupboard unbuild waiting for my retirement.
Models, maybe that is another reason I really like museums, I have had and built many types of model planes boats and ships over the years. I still have a few in the cupboard unbuild waiting for my retirement.

I used to have this locomotive as a child on my Hornby HO OO train set.
I used to have this locomotive as a child on my Hornby HO OO train set.

Newcastle was nick named steel city and one section of the Museum was dedicated to Steel Production Lines.
Newcastle was nick named steel city and one section of the Museum was dedicated to Steel Production Lines.

I have worked in many factories over the years but not around here. I thought they did a great job of keeping and displaying lots of the old equipment.
I have worked in many factories over the years but not around here. I thought they did a great job of keeping and displaying lots of the old equipment.

So the story goes. A large 5 meter long shark see near the Merewether’s ocean baths had the beaches closed for weeks a few year back.
So the story goes.  A large 5 meter long shark see near the Merewether's ocean baths had the beaches closed for weeks a few year back.

Thanks for visiting the Newcastle Museum.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now