Inspiration Point, Lota Queensland, Australia


It was one of the best weather mornings we had seen for ages and cloudless skies made for some great photos.
It was one of the best weather mornings we had seen for ages and cloudless skies made for some great photos.

The lack of wind made for pan cake flat water on the bay. This little stretch of sand is called Lota dog beach or it is what the locals and I have always known it as. A place where you can let your dog run off leash. There were not any dogs on this particular morning but I have see it quite busy before.
The lack of wind made for pan cake flat water on the bay. This little stretch of sand is called Lota dog beach or it is what the locals and I have always known it as. A place where you can let your dog run off leash. There were not any dogs on this particular morning but I have see it quite busy before.

I was double checking my location names on google maps for the post when I saw the point at the end of the Dog beach was called Inspiration Point, which I did not known. There are no marking or signs but it is a great name for a little wooden lookout where you often see people sitting and staring out in to the bay, reflecting or looking for Inspiration.

The water birds seem to be enjoying the conditions too, I guess it made it easy for them to see breakfast through the clear water.
The water birds seem to be enjoying the conditions too, I guess it made it easy for them to see breakfast through the clear water.

The muddy mangrove flats not usually the prettiest place to get photos but I was defiantly in lucky this morning.
The muddy mangrove flats not usually the prettiest place to get photos but I was defiantly in lucky this morning.

The tide was low but not all the way out.
The tide was low but not all the way out.

Lota Reserve. Also known as Figtree Point park.
Lota Reserve. Also known as Figtree Point park.

Home of the Lota parkrun. A free timed weekly 5km event.
Home of the Lota parkrun. A free timed weekly 5km event.

Pelican boardwalk
Pelican boardwalk

I took lots of these photos while I was doing the parkrun event. I have been having some issues with my ankle so I just walked the 5km circuit.
I took lots of these photos while I was doing the parkrun event. I have been having some issues with my ankle so I just walked the 5km circuit.

The tide was getting lower.
The tide was getting lower.

Storm water drain.
Storm water drain.

The parkrun course took us right to the southern end of Fig tree point park and the Queen Victoria boat ramp.
The parkrun course took us right to the southern end of Fig tree point park and the Queen Victoria boat ramp.

5.1 km 50 minutes 47 seconds. My 390th parkrun and 12th at Lota. My slowest Lota parkrun every but was a pretty good walking time especially with a few photo stop.
5.1 km  50 minutes 47 seconds. My 390th parkrun and 12th at Lota. My slowest Lota parkrun every but was a pretty good walking time especially with a few photo stop.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center