Grindelwald, Switzerland 1991


travelling through Bern, Switzerland’s Capital city on my way to Grindelwald.
travelling through Bern, Switzerland's Capital city on my way to Grindelwald.

I had met a lot of people on all my travel trips. One of them offered to show me around the a Swiss mount Village where she was living and working. Pascale could speak 5 languages, I struggle to speak one!

Bern
Bern

Bern markets
Bern markets

South American Buskers
South American Buskers

The train making its way up the valley to Grindelwald.
The train making its way up the valley to Grindelwald.

Pascale worked at a hotel and the hotel owner had huskie dogs. One morning we took them out for a run. They looked pretty cute and friendly but while setting up the sled things got out of control and the dogs started attacking each other. As an untrained tourist I was not supposed to be doing anything until I saw the handlers were out numbered and could not control all the dogs, so I quickly ran over, one of the dogs jumped at me so I just instinctively punched it in the face. Amazingly straight after that every dog just stopped barking and snapping and stood still. That night at the local pub when I walked in everyone stopped and looked. My friend had to translate but word had got around, I was some sort of Crocodile Dundee charter from Australia and as good with animals LOL
Pascale worked at a hotel and the hotel owner had huskie dogs. One morning we took them out for a run. They looked pretty cute and friendly  but while setting up the sled things got out of control and the dogs started attacking each other. As an untrained tourist I was not supposed to be doing anything until I saw the handlers were out numbered and could not control all the dogs, so I quickly ran over, one of the dogs jumped at me so I just instinctively punched it in the face. Amazingly straight after that every dog just stopped barking and snapping and stood still. That night at the local pub when I walked in everyone stopped and looked. My friend had to translate but word had got around, I was some sort of Crocodile Dundee charter from Australia and as good with animals LOL 

Lucky I had skied before and was able to have a go here as well. The run from the top to the village was much longer and higher than anything I had skied in Australia.
Lucky I had skied before and was able to have a go here as well. The run from the top to the village was much longer and higher than anything I had skied in Australia.

My budget could not afford a joy flight.e
My budget could not afford a joy flight.e

Grindelwald had it’s own glacier as well. I hiked there one day.
Grindelwald had it's own glacier as well. I hiked there one day.

complete with a tunnel
complete with a tunnel

and carving inside.
and carving inside.

Matterhorn Zermatt
Matterhorn Zermatt

I checked out a few other places in Switzerland too.

Geneva
Geneva

United Nations Geneva
United Nations Geneva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center