[Blog #94] Taim Ecological Station | Capybaras & More

Heeeyho Readers! A brief view on the southern Brazilian capybaras!


Capybara is the friendliest animal!

From where I live heading to Uruguay, two viable routes guide travelers: the first, wilder and subsequently more challenging, means driving along the world's longest beach (Cassino); the other, highway 471, between Lagoa Mangueira and Lagoa Mirim, crosses one of my state's ecological stations, named Taim.

The Taim Ecological Station is a huge protected area located in the state of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil) with approximately 30% of its territory belonging to Rio Grande and 70% to Santa Vitória do Palmar.

Currently, the Chico Mendes Institute for Biodiversity Conservation (ICMBio) manages the area and its autarchy function is linked to the Ministry of the Environment, which grants Taim the status of World Natural Heritage.

5.jpg

Capybara chilling


Altogether, Taim has an area of 11 thousand hectares (approximately 110 km²). It was declared an area of ecological interest due to the wildlife diversity and because it is the largest wetland region in southern Brazil.

image.png

Map Source: Terra Australis

Foreigners are more likely familiar with the Brazilian Pantanal, though Taim is considered the "Gaucho Pantanal" for its similar diversity. The reserve is home to at least 30 different species of animals and 250 birds, which, between August and January, increase with the arrival of other migratory species from both hemispheres.

It is evident the difficulty of photographing the entrails of such a complex area, so I have to content myself with photos of some animals living near the highway. We park on the road side and I pull the camera. Unfortunately, I don't have enough zoom, but lucky me the capybaras were chilling nearby.

The capybara is considered one of the friendliest wild animal. With a calm and compassionate nature, it's not uncommon for the world's biggest rodent to adopt stray animals. Sometimes one can even spot capybaras roaming near alligators and other predators without any fear.

3.jpg

Capybaras chilling


It's scorching for mid-August and I keep my eyes sharp to witness an alligator. They generally chill on the banks when the weather is warm enough, but I'm not fortunate this time.

6.jpg

Capybaras chilling


Here's the capybaras enjoying the sun with the capororoca (white bird similar to a swan). The black bird on the left is unknown.

8.jpg

Capybaras, capororoca and unknown bird

2.jpg

More capororoca


Lastly, I tried to photograph a beautiful carcará. This species of falcon is common in southern Brazil, though photographing one without enough zoom proves impossible.

1.jpg

Carcará


In the end, I rush back to the car. We are late. I'm planning a second trip to the reserve, by bicycle, so I can move quietly to not scare the animals away. I'm discovering that wildlife photographing requires patience.

Anyways. I hope you've enjoyed knowing a little bit about the southern Brazilian environment.

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

[//]:# (!pinmapple -32.572420 lat -52.550815 long d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center