Calm afternoon in Salon-de-Provence, France

DSC_5390.JPG

Salon-de-Provence was our first destination last week. It was Monday when we started our road trip from Spain and we chose this city as our stay for the afternoon and night. Although we were preparing with excitement (and a bit of stress) for this journey, the start of it was not that smooth. Aside from some additional paperwork that we would need (but arranged that from the car) at one moment, on the highway, we heard a loud and unexpected sound.

One squirrel decided to finish its life by jumping in front of our car. The poor guy ended up under the vehicle and hit the rear bumper - which broke because of that impact. We slowed down and stopped at the first gas station we found. Luckily, just one smaller piece of plastic on the bumper broke and flew away. We will fix it, but as it is not essential, we could continue our trip.

We could also continue despite two traffic accidents that happened on the highway. I always feel sorry and I get goosebumps from the sadness I experience when I see car accidents. But they are an unavoidable part of all trips. However, we made it to Salon-de-Provence safe. Registered in the hotel, took a shower and had lunch, had a short rest and we were ready to go to the old town.

DSC_5391.JPG

The streets are those typical narrow ones with old stone buildings. I saw a few interesting passes, with a part of the house where you can walk under it through a small tunnel. Well, I can't explain it better, and I don't know the name of this kind of pass, but you can see it in the photo above and under.

DSC_5392.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

The biggest and most important landmark in the city of Salon is the Château de l'Emperi. This castle was built in the 9th century and from the middle of the last century, it was listed as a historical monument.

DSC_5369.JPG

DSC_5383.JPG

However, we couldn't visit the castle from the inside because of one small detail. The day in the week.... it was Monday we were there, but look at the schedule:

Open from Tuesday to Sunday!

Bad luck for me, I guess.

DSC_5370.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Accepting the fate, of not visiting the interior of this castle this time, I turned right and saw the square and the church, and decided to go down and look around in that part of the city. The restaurant (this that was open) was full of people, but many shops were already closed. I could not purchase some souvenirs.

DSC_5379.JPG

DSC_5405.JPG

DSC_5385.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

I liked the stroll between the picturesque streets and as I mentioned, closed shops and restaurants. I am not sure if it was the case because of the day - Monday, or simply because the owners took a day off. The shops, I am sure they were closed because of the time, as it was around eight in the evening. Still sunny but everything closed? In my opinion, it was too calm for a city.

DSC_5399.JPG

DSC_5395.JPG

DSC_5411.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Seems that the city was not that calm in the past as many famous personalities lived here. for example, a French astrologer, physician and reputed prophet, Nostradamus (Michel de Nostredame) lived the last twenty years of his life in this city. Maybe even in this house, according to the plate I saw on the facade. The drawing representing him can be seen on the top image, on the balcony.

DSC_5404.JPG

DSC_5400.JPG

DSC_5401.JPG

Also, in the city, we can see several sculptures and artworks, representing Nostradamus. One of the examples I passed by. A bit more modern representation of this famous prophet.

DSC_5397.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

In France, people like to speak in French, a very logical conclusion :))) However, I missed the explanation in English in many landmarks. When I spotted a board with info, it was mainly in French, without other languages. For people who speak fluently French, there is the info. For me, it stays a mystery, but I found fun with a lady that was drawn there.

DSC_5371.JPG

Info about this house, who understands:

DSC_5373.JPG

From this inscription though I could learn that the elegant lady at the door was Suzanne de Vacquerolles. She seemed lonely, so I approached her...

DSC_5372.JPG

First I gave her my hand, introduced myself and asked her for a dance...

DSC_5375.JPG

The music is in our head, you can imagine it, but one moment from the dance is documented here:

DSC_5377.JPG

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

The dance finished, and the walk continued. Passed below this gate made in 1630...

DSC_5407.JPG

On the other side of the street, some sculptures and more modern artworks could be seen.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

The sightseeing didn't last for a long time after we saw the old part of the city centre. We went back on the same route to the hotel, and make the plans for the next day. The very calm city of Salon-de-Provence was an ok place to stop to rest, though maybe the next time I would like to see the interior of the castle so I should remember - visit it any other day just not on Monday!

DSC_5389.JPG

DSC_5396.JPG

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center