Curaçao – A Dutch Jewel in the Caribbean Sea

Curaçao is a fascinating island in the Caribbean Sea, located some 60 km north of the coast of Venezuela. This beautiful jewel with its capital town Willemstad is a country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Curaçao forms together with Aruba and Bonaire, the ABC islands. This colorful mosaic of an island has less than 150.000 inhabitants and an area of 444 km2. It’s a small island, however very diverse and beautiful as you will experience in the photos below.

I spent two weeks on Curaçao a few years back as I wanted to explore the underwater world. As a “spoiled” scuba diver that has dived in a lot of unique and stunning places around the world, I was quite intrigued to see what this “tiny” island in the Caribbean had to offer.

Today, I’d like to share with you some beautiful spots that captivated my attention when I wasn’t spending my time in the underwater realms.

Let’s start the journey with a closer look at the surroundings. The island is fascinating as it offers quite a diverse fauna and flora.

Willemstad, the capital of Curaçao, is as colorful as it gets. You will barely see a house painted in white. Whether that’s considered boring or not, the locals love their colorful scenery and so do the tourists that mostly visit the island from fancy cruisers.

Obviously, if you’ve made your way to Willemstad, you have to visit the most famous spot on the island: the distillery of the original blue Curaçao liqueur.

Have you ever wondered what’s causing some of those delicious cocktails to turn blue? Well, it’s the famous liqueur from Curaçao.

Back to nature. Let’s have a look at the wild life while we also visit some farms and parks on the island. Be on the lookout for flamingos, ostriches and crocodiles.

And here’s my special friend. He used to pay me a visit almost on a daily basis before I hit the depth of the waters. Such a curious chap.

Am I leaving the beaches out?

No way. I couldn’t do that.

Honestly though, I’ve never been to an island where you could simply leave all your precious diving gear and be gone for hours exploring the underwater world. On top of that, I’ve never experienced an island with so many different empty beaches. No tourists. No locals. Now that I call luxury.

Last but not least, here are some images from the resort we stayed at during those couple of weeks.

What about you?

Have you been to Curaçao? Are you planning on visiting the island anytime soon?

💎💎💎 Krisz Rokk 💎💎💎


Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos © Krisz Rokk

Photos were taken with my Sony DSC-W30.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now