Mr. Brown Avenue: A Golden Brown Gem in Yilan County, Taiwan (宜蘭縣)

1000030014.jpg

What's up Worldmappin people!? I'm here again to showcase the gems of Taiwan.

In my recent blog about one of the best trains of Taiwan, I mentioned that I was heading to Yilan County for another impromptu getaway from the city. So, in this blog, I'm going to share with you one of the destinations I've been, Mr.Brown Avenue.

Yilan 宜蘭

1000030148.jpg

Yilan is a county located in the northeastern part of Taiwan. It is about 60 km away from the center of Taipei and can be reached by train or bus in just an hour.

It is known for its wide rice fields, mountains, coastal sceneries, and destinations such as Guishan Island.

Yilan is also a perfect spot for camping activities. I made a blog about it!

1000029869.jpg
Arriving at the train station, I was welcomed by a Giraffe.

In front of the station, you'll find a row of motorcycle rental shops. While this particular shop grabbed my attention as they are renting this Vespa Styled motorcycle called JBubu. I believe this is a Taiwanese brand.

1000029876.jpg

Looks cool! isn't it?

Mr. Brown Avenue

After renting the motorcycle, I drove straight to Mr. Brown Avenue, a rice farm that often hosts events like hot air balloon and kite festivals. It was my first time coming here.

DJI_20240128160045_0781_D.JPG

I often see photos on Instagram captured at Mr.Brown Avenue featuring the golden rice fields, art displays, beautiful portraits, and rice field drawings like the image above.

I was hoping to see the golden rice fields, but unfortunately, I came here a week after they harvested the rice.

1000030140.jpg

The container store in the photo above, is a store that sells cold beverages and ice cream. Perfect for the super hot summer! I've enjoyed this black tea-flavored ice cream.

Kite Festival


20240706163534_IMG_6306.jpg

However, before arriving, I didn't know what event would be happening that day. All I wanted was to go on a road trip, appreciate nature, and take beautiful photos of the golden rice fields.

To my surprise, there was a kite festival on that day!

20240706164241_IMG_6346.jpg


1000030144.jpg

Have you seen a flying, green, Gorilla? haha!

1000030142.jpg

I've heard that there is a kite design contest at this event. However, if you aren't participating in the event people can still experience flying a kite by renting one of these cool kites.

1000030143.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now