A Hike to Remember: Lake Holon Adventure Part 1 | Stunning Views and Unexpected Twists via Kule Trail

My last hike was two years ago when I was still working in Luzon. I missed the mountains and that exhilarating feeling of reaching a stunning view after a challenging hike. So, I couldn't have been more excited when the opportunity arose for a long weekend adventure to the renowned Lake Holon, also known as Lake Maughan, in T'Boli, South Cotabato.

This marked my first venture into Mindanao, adding an extra layer of anticipation. With no relatives there, the opportunity to explore its unique places had eluded me until now.

Accompanied by friends @ybanezkim26, @glecerioberto, and @patsitivity, this trip promised an adventure to Lake Holon and a chance to catch up with our friend and host, Daphnie.


Ascent via Kule Trail

The day of the hike started early, and with the addition of three friends invited by Daphnie, we formed a lively group of eight. Opting for a package deal, our journey included round-trip transportation to the jump-off point, entrance fees, a boat ride, local guide fees, three meals(lunch, dinner, and breakfast, and even a certificate of the climb.

There are two main trekking trails to reach Lake Holon: the Salacafe Trail (easier) and the Kule Trail (more challenging), each offering a unique experience in terms of scenery and difficulty. The Kule Trail, although tougher, is renowned for its 360-degree view of Lake Holon, making it the natural choice for our ascent.

The initial leg of our adventure involved a rocky truck ride to T'Boli town proper, where we registered at the tourism office. Our group took a "Before the Hike" photo.

PXL_20231127_004354660-01.jpeg


From there, a thrilling Habal-habal (motorcycle) ride took us to the briefing site in Brgy. Kule. Having seen from a vlog that this would be a rocky and bumpy ride, I felt a mix of anxiety and excitement, not being a motorcycle fan. The one-hour fast, rough, and rocky journey, with steep, narrow roads, felt like an adrenaline-pumping rollercoaster.

Thankfully, we arrived safely, and my anxiety vanished and turned to excitement.

20231127_091159-01.jpeg


Before commencing the trek, we registered and had an orientation in a traditional house with beds for overnight campers. Our host shared do’s and don’ts and intriguing facts about Lake Holon. She even said a T’boli-language prayer, which I did not understand, but it added a cultural touch.

T’boli hand-painted walking sticks ("tungkod") were on display outside. Having always found them helpful while hiking, I decided to get one.

20231127_094131-01.jpeg


The Kule Trail comprises five stations, each with a designated rest area for trekkers to take a break, rehydrate, and appreciate the scenery.

To Station 1: Open Trail

The day was perfect for a hike, not too hot. The open trail to Station 1 allowed us to stop and capture the beautiful views of mountains, trees, and nature.

Although the hike to Station 1 was relatively easy, we made a pit stop at the resting station to refuel before proceeding to Station 2.

To Station 2:

The trek to Station 2 marked the end of the open trail. Passing by various plants, including abaca and coffee, we rested again before gearing up for the trek to Station 3.

To Station 3:

The trek to Station 3 signalled the start of the steep section, adding a bit more challenge. The steep terrain, though demanding, was manageable if taken slowly. The only hurdle was a challenging tree.

Another resting station awaited us, the last one before the viewing deck at Station 4. Considering my increasing hunger, I couldn’t help but feel excited about the upcoming view and the lunch waiting for us.

To Station 4:

The trek to Station 4 was the most challenging, long and steep climb. It felt like a rewarding prelude to the breathtaking Lake Holon. Tiring as it was, thoughts of the lake kept me going. The realization that it was very near urged me to hike faster.

Viewing Deck

Breathless, I reached the top and was rendered speechless. As Taylor Swift says, “This scene feels like what I once saw on a screen.”

The lake was a masterpiece. Its emerald green waters were captivating, creating a picturesque and serene environment. The calm and tranquillity of the water left me speechless.

While other groups were busy taking pictures, we decided to wait and eat our lunch first. In the end, we were the only ones left, literally having the whole Lake Holon to ourselves.

I still can’t get over how magnificent Lake Holon was. The trek was worth it, and choosing the more challenging Kule Trail amplified the experience.


To The Campsite

I expected the descent to the lake to be easy since our guide mentioned that the trek to Station 4 was the hardest. I anticipated the worst to be over, only to be surprised. The trail to the lake proved to be a never-ending downward trek.

It was hard and tiring, especially as I had to control my muscles and joints to counteract the effects of gravity with each step. My walking stick proved to be a big help, especially during this part. The descent seemed endless, and even when we caught a glimpse of the lake and thought we were near, it didn’t seem to end. We kept going anyway until finally, when we saw the boat, relief washed over us.

Riding the boat to the campsite, we were tired and excited to rest.

In an unfortunate yet somewhat fortunate twist, my left shoe gave up the moment I got off the boat and walked towards the campsite. While this posed a problem for what I would wear tomorrow, considering I didn’t bring other footwear, I was also grateful it didn’t happen during the trek. We rested, and with the rain pouring, we indulged in some delicious ube biko. It was my first time trying this local delicacy, and it did not disappoint.

Also, a rainbow appeared. 🌈

We waited for our other two friends caught in the rain, and thankfully, they arrived safely.


Our tents were strategically set up in front of the lake, providing a spectacular view.

20231127_173230-01.jpeg

After a short rest, we emerged just in time for dinner. It was a good thing that dinner was already included in our package, as we definitely did not have the energy to prepare it ourselves. We had chicken soup and tilapia for dinner. The tilapias, sourced from the lake, were incredibly crispy and tasty.

Post-dinner, we engaged in conversations to pass the time. With no signal at the campsite, we relied on ourselves to enjoy and unwind. Time moved slowly, making it ideal for unplugging and escaping social media noise and the digital world. As we talked, my friends enjoyed drinks.

We decided to sleep early, gearing up to recover all the energy for the hike back to civilization the next day.

20231127_204602-01.jpeg

It turned out to be a very cold and sleepless night for me. Having not camped in a long time, I admit I was unprepared. I woke up several times, with the dawn being especially cold. I even borrowed Kim’s extra jacket because my jacket was not enough, and everything hurts.

Still, it was indeed an unforgettable experience for me. This will also be my first time hiking with just my slippers. Will I make it without my shoes? 😅 Stay tuned for Part 2 as I share the challenges on our hike back via the Salacafe trail. The photo credits for some images in this post go to @glecerioberto, our official photographer. 📷

Karenina

Join Karenina as she ventures into a world where adventure and dreams intertwine. She believes in embracing life's uncertainties, pursuing passions, and finding joy in the moments that make life extraordinary. 🌈✨

She's eager to hear your stories and experiences! Don't hesitate to share your passions and adventures in the comments below. Stay tuned for more captivating blog posts covering various topics, including travel tales, book reviews, food quests, and so much more. If you've enjoyed this post, please give it an upvote. To receive regular updates, follow me and be part of this exciting journey. Let's keep exploring, keep dreaming, and keep spreading the love together! ❤️
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now