A Trip to Brandywine Falls

post1.jpg
Life gave me a humbling reminder this week. While jumping rope I fell straight on my bum, twisting my ankle in the process. After visiting the hospital I learned I had fractured my heel, landing me in a protective boot for the next few weeks.

The moral of the story? Don't jump rope when it has rained recently at, er, 1am. Huh, I still don't know what went wrong!

Although I'm healing up just fine, my pride is still aching. It is strange to meet physical limitations for me still. My biggest sadness over this is that I cannot go walk around in nature. To cheer myself up, I thought I would share some photos of a trip I took several weeks back to Brandywine Falls.

post2.jpg
Starting down the path in the first photo, we headed towards the falls. Of course, we had to stop many times along the way so that tiny hands could explore.

Although the walk along this path is one that should only take 15-20 minutes in theory, we took our sweet time. Summer was in the air, and there were lots of wildflowers to admire along with the alluring temperature.

At the end of the path lays an open field to walk beside for about half a mile. Some storm clouds had begun to roll in, but thankfully they held their gifts until we departed.

post3.jpg post4.jpg

Something about the red barn in the distance was absolutely perfect to me. Country quaint and adorable! Soon we were back in the forest, which is a segment of Cuyahoga Valley National Park.

post5.jpg

This gorgeous boardwalk leads the way to the waterfall. Once, this whole area was a village. One filled with the buzz of industry. Although almost none of its structures survived the passage of time or the weight of modern technology, this sign remains to commemorate the period in history.

post6.jpg

My text came out blurry in the photo, so I'll give you the gist. The village formed here because of the falls, utilizing their natural power for a variety of business ventures. Although a sawmill and whiskey production were at the forefront, soon after came an electricity company.

The remnants of this company are the last vestiges of this period in Ohio history. I will share a photo of that spot later on... When these ventures became obsolete, everyone scattered, and soon time mostly dissembled the mark they had left here.

post7.jpg post12.jpg

While strolling down the boardwalk, the roar of the water can be heard from above. I snapped these two photos, and then just could not decide which I liked better despite how similar they are. Not too long afterβ€” there it was, the main attraction! A recent rain had added to the magnificent flow of this 60-foot waterfall, making for a captivating view even from afar.

post8.jpg post9.jpg

I didn't just have eyes for the waterfall, however. These beautiful moss and fern laden rock faces enticed me as well. They are mostly a mix of shale and sandstone, providing a contrast that is magical feeling with the plant life decorating them.

Although I didn't see any fairies, I was totally certain that they hid somewhere out of sight... Just waiting for us pesky humans to go home, so they might play again.

post13.jpg post14.jpg post15.jpg


Look at this beauty! There is something about the foam of the water that energizes me, even in memory.

post10.jpg

Near its edge stands this pile of rubble. A reminder of another period in history, when a place like this gifted a lot more than a pretty sight. Although Champion Electric Company only provided roughly 30 years of service, it was a HUGE deal in its day and age. A beacon of prosperity to the citizens of Brandywine Village.

post11.jpg

There was something powerful to me in the act of standing on those rocks. In part from their significance, and in part because of the beauty all around me. The sun was getting lower in the sky, casting warm hues on the view which felt like a visual hug.

post16.jpg

post17.jpg

Like so many adventures, this one had an abrupt finale. It was clear that the incoming darkness was more than just the sun settingβ€” the rain began its threats of falling with a sharp temperature drop.

I spied one last interesting detail as we marched quickly back out of the forest. Don't these almost look like pinecones growing out of the ground?! Totally baffled, I snapped this picture and knew I had to do some research later.

post18.jpg

As it turns out, this is a parasitic plant known as "bear corn", which feeds on the roots of oak trees. What a specific purpose! If like me, you want to learn more, here is the Wikipedia page on this bizarre plant.

With its mystery chasing me to the car along with the looming storm, I said goodbye to this special spot.

Luckily, we were able to rush back to the car before the first drops fell. Leaving behind the beauty of this place in a soothing downpour.

I hope you enjoyed visiting Brandywine Falls with me; I certainly can't wait to go back!

footer.png
All photos are my own, taken with a Canon EOS Rebel T100


[//]:# (!pinmapple 41.27715 lat -81.53846 long Brandywine Falls d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now