Great view from Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building / 東京都庁からの眺め (English & Japanese)

(日本語は後半にあります)

【English】

Hello to the Worldmappin community!

I went to the license renewal center in Shinjuku to renew my driver's license. There are several license renewal centers in Tokyo, but the one that is relatively accessible from where I live is the Shinjuku Center, located on the second floor of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building. The view from the observation room of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building was amazing, so let me share them with you.


This angular building is the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building. It is 48 floors above ground, 243 meters high, and was designed by the world-renowned architect Kenzo Tange. I am not at all familiar with architecture, but when I see this Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building, I honestly cannot help but be impressed and say, “Oh, how cool!



This is the entrance to the Second Main Building, which includes the License Renewal Center. In addition to the License Renewal Center, this building houses the Tokyo Metropolitan Government's Waterworks Bureau, Environment Bureau, and Port and Harbor Bureau, and has the feel of an office building.



I was a little surprised to see this robot monitoring the entrance. It is hard to tell from the photo, but the black part on top was spinning around, and it looked like it was monitoring the entrance and exit. I found out that this is an autonomous mobile security robot called “SQ-2,” which was introduced in April this year at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government's Second Main Building. In addition to patrolling and standing guard duties, it also has a communication function that enables it to contact the disaster prevention center by holding up its hand. Wow, it looks like something out of science fiction!

The driver's license renewal itself took less than an hour. Since I had come all the way to Shinjuku, I decided to climb up to the observation room in the first main government building. The observation room is 202 meters above ground, on the 45th floor, and is free to visit. There was a baggage check in front of the elevator and everything in my bag was checked 😅Even though I didn't have anything suspicious, I was a bit nervous in front of the security guards.



The elevator only stops at the 1st, 2nd, and 45th floors. I was the only one in the elevator...probably because it was a weekday and the elevator was empty.



In the center of the observation floor was a souvenir shop. I thought I took a picture of it, but unfortunately it didn't seem to save 😅

Okay, so let's keep approaching the window then...



This is the view of Tokyo from 202 meters above the ground. I heard that Mt. Fuji can sometimes be seen if the weather is good, but it was cloudy today (and then it rained heavily in the evening), and the far side of the view was hazy. Well, I have no idea in which direction Mt. Fuji can be seen in the first place...



For some reason, the word “metaverse” came to my mind as I gazed at the streets of Shinjuku with its rows of buildings. I don't know why😅







This park was visible just below from the North Observatory. Looking at the map, I think it might be Shinjuku Central Park. Skyscrapers and buildings standing in a row beyond the greenery... I felt kind of sick if I kept looking at them. From this height, it's so cluttered and dense, there's no space at all!

Even so, I felt strangely invigorated by the view of Tokyo from the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building. Human imagination, technology, and energy are amazing.



I hear that the scenery at twilight and at night is also wonderful, so I would like to visit again at a different time. It is easily accessible from Shinjuku Station and free of charge, so please visit when you come to Tokyo.



As an aside, there was a Tesla showroom on the first floor of the Shinjuku NS Building next to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building! I didn't know it was in Shinjuku. I was a little curious about it, but I didn't have the courage to go in, so I just took a picture from outside☺








【Japanese】

運転免許の更新のため、新宿の免許更新センターに行ってきました。東京都内にはいくつかの免許更新センターがありますが、私が住んでいるところから比較的アクセスが良いのは新宿センターで、東京都庁の2階にあります。JR新宿駅と降りて、徒歩で15分くらいで行けます。


このカクカクした建物が都庁。地上48階、243メートルの高さを誇り、設計は世界的建築家・丹下健三氏によるものです。私は建築のことは全く分かりませんが、都庁を見ると素直に「ああ、カッコいいなあ」と思ってしまいます。



こちらは免許更新センターが入っている第二本庁舎のエントランス。第二本庁舎には、免許更新センターのほか、東京都の水道局や環境局、港湾局などが入っていて、オフィスビルといった感じの建物です。



入り口で監視中のこのロボットには少し驚きました。写真だと分かりにくいのですが、上の黒い部分がクルクルと回転していて、出入り口の様子を何やら監視しているように見えました。調べてみたところ、これは「SQ-2」という自律移動型警備ロボットで、今年4月から都庁の第二本庁舎で本格導入されたものだそうです。巡回・立哨業務のほか、手をかざすと防災センターに連絡できる通話機能もあるようです。いやー、すごい。SFみたい!

運転免許の更新自体は1時間以内に終わり(20年運転していないのでゴールド免許です)、せっかくなので第一本庁舎にある展望室に登ってみることにしました。展望室は地上202メートル、45階にあり、無料です。エレベーター前で手荷物検査があり、バッグの中をすべてチェックされました😅怪しいものは持っていないとはいえ、警備員を前にするとちょっと緊張してしまいます。



エレベーターは1階、2階、そして45階にしか止まりません。エレベーターには私一人・・・平日で空いていることもあったのでしょう。55秒で45階まで上がることができます。



展望フロアの中央にはお土産屋さん?のようなショップがありました。写真を撮ったつもりでしたが、残念ながら保存できていなかったようです😅

そのまま、窓のほうへ・・・



これが地上202メートルから見渡す東京です。天気が良ければ富士山が見えることもあるそうですが、今日は曇りで(その後夕方からひどい雨が降りました)遠くのほうは霞んでいました。そもそもどっち方面に富士山が見えるのか、私は全然分かっていないんですけどね・・・。



ビルが立ち並ぶ新宿の街を眺めていると、なぜか「メタバース」という言葉が頭に浮かびました。何でだろう😅







この公園は北展望台からすぐ下に見えました。地図で見る限り、新宿中央公園ではないかと思います。緑の向こうに立ち並ぶ高層ビルや建物・・・ずっと見ていたらなんだか気持ち悪くなってしまいました。この高さから見ると、あまりにもごちゃごちゃと密集していて、全然隙間がないじゃん!みたいな・・・😅

それでも、都庁から見渡す東京の風景からは、不思議と元気をもらった気がしました。人間の想像力、技術力、エネルギーってやっぱり凄い。



夕暮れ時の風景や、夜景も素晴らしいそうなので、今度また時間を変えて行ってみたいです。新宿駅からアクセスも良いですし、無料で楽しめるので、東京にお越しの際はぜひ訪れてみてください。



余談ですが、都庁の横にある「新宿NSビル」1階には、テスラのショールームがありました!新宿にあるとは知りませんでした。ちょっと気になったけど、とても入ってみる勇気はなく、外から写真だけ撮らせてもらいました☺


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center