Exploring Shibata City in Niigata, Japan | someDaletravelsJapan#001

Hi everyone! Welcome to #someDaletravels stories. This is my first travel blog - the story of my first international travel. Allow me to share my experiences and thoughts during my stay in a charming city in Japan called Shibata.


someDaledreams - Japan 20150001.jpg

It took 2 years for this trip to happen. I worked in a Japanese company that regularly sends employees to Japan for training but a lot of things have happened since. The company transferred ownership. A redundancy took place causing hundreds of workers to be laid off. Japan trainees were sent back home; most were not retained. It was two years of uncertainty, including my tenure and the Japan training that was put on pause. Even still, here I am, two years in the waiting, two years in the making.

Welcome to Japan

The day marked a lot of firsts for me. First international travel. First airplane experience. First time to be away from family and friends.

I am not totally alone though, I came with my girl officemate and friend, who I then shared the apartment with. Also waiting for us are two of our superiors who have been staying in Japan for a long-term contract.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150002.jpg

While I love going to places, my stomach does not. Not sure if it was the breakfast at home or the lunch on the plane but I started feeling unwell en route to Narita.

As soon as we landed at the Narita airport, I immediately went to the restroom only to get my first shock as a foreigner - a Japanese toilet! I immediately switched to the western toilet but poo was still in shock, I just cannot do it in the airport cubicles.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150003.jpg

Four hours flight to Tokyo plus 5 hours layover and another hour and a half flight to Niigata - that was what I needed to endure! And when I thought it was finally over, the Japanese officemate who came to fetch us took us to the supermarket first. I cannot stress enough that I was sweating cold sweat while paying that bento for dinner. It was late in the night when I was finally able to do my thing in our apartment - after what seemed like an eternity!

Dear Japan, what a welcome!

Shibata City - Tadaima!

Yamazaki, where we lived, is a quiet neighborhood that has a countryside vibe - perfect for those who don’t like the hustle and bustle of the city (like me).

someDaledreams - Japan 20150005.jpg

They say the Japanese put work above everything else. Well, I experienced it in the first 2 weeks, having had only one day off in a week. I did not mind at first because the newbie me had to work a little harder but soon enough, I found myself looking out more often through the lone huge window pane in the office, waiting for the day to end.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150004.jpg

Nothing much to see from my desk, just rice fields and the mountain silhouette as its backdrop but my mind kept on drifting to what’s beyond. Well, I got 3 months to find out.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150006.jpg

Niigata is known for its high quality rice. While yes, the rice we had in the apartment is good, honestly, I cannot make a comparison since it’s the only one I’ve tasted in all of Japan. :D

In Between work on Weekdays

It was probably the first time I experienced the excitement of going home every single day. Our office is a few-minute walk from the apartment. Back in my home country, I had to commute a good 2 hours to get home from work.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150007.jpg

In this new setting, the fun is in going home, riding the bike, or walking to the nearest store that sells just about anything and the convenience-convenience of 711 in every corner. There was a different kind of joy in doing groceries in the afternoon when the goods go on sale. It was also in discovering small alleys lined with houses that are so Japan.

Weekend Stroll

During my stay in Japan, I learned that Japanese are so fond of traveling. Perhaps it is their way to breathe from the hectic work schedule. And breathe we did. Here are a few places we went to when we had time on weekends.

- Shibata Castle -

Also known as “Ayame-jou” or “Iris Castle”, Shibata castle lies at the center of the city. Being one of the top 100 castles in Japan, it is a must-visit when you are in Shibata. One of its unique features is the T-shaped roof decorated with 3 Shachihoko (a tiger-headed carp from Japanese folklore).

someDaledreams - Japan 20150008.jpg

It was my first time to see an actual castle and I had zero knowledge about these structures but the good thing is that there are volunteer guides inside the premises who walk visitors inside the castle and its role in Japan’s history.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150009.jpg

- Northern Culture Museum & Shimizuen -

Another top attraction in Shibata is the Northern Culture Museum & Shimizuen. This place offers a traditional Japanese vibe that is preserved through time. The facade of the property is really charming and exudes a sense of calm. Should you find time to visit Shibata, make sure to add it to your itinerary.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150010.jpg

I also love the shops outside the main entrance which sell traditional Japanese snacks and omiyage (souvenirs).

- Ijimino Park -

Some of the first things I love about Japan are the parks that are just about everywhere. Yes, everywhere, because wherever the bike led us, there is a park. I wished we also had these tiny playgrounds back home.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150011.jpg

Not so far from where we lived is a place called Ijimino Park. It is bigger than the scattered parks around the city and truly a relaxing one. I made one last visit during early mid-October when leaves start to change colors. It was gorgeous!

someDaledreams - Japan 20150012.jpg

You can also find an Iris garden in the park. My boss said it’s really lovely during spring when the Iris flowers are in bloom. It was summer when we made a stroll. Still beautiful even if it was mostly green - I mean, who does not love these greens?

someDaledreams - Japan 20150013.JPG

I personally love the path that leads to the garden. It passes through a pond which gave more character to the place.

- Suwa Shrine -

Another interesting place to see in Shibata is the Suwa Shrine. Even though I am not so familiar with Japan’s religious practices, the construction of the place is enough to excite my curious mind. The torii gates and woodworks are something to admire.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150014.JPG


Those are just few of the places I visited in Shibata. Would I want to re-visit? Definitely. But if I have opportunity in the future I would love to add a few more places to my itinerary. I heard Ichishima Brewery, Koji Fukiya Memorial Museum of Art, and Tsukioka Onsen are good to experience, too. I would also love to do some hiking or visit the seaside.

So much to do, so little time...

This is the exact phrase to describe my first Japan experience. We literally had fewer weekends because we came mainly for work. Nevertheless, whether I intentionally visit a tourist destination or just walk around the neighborhood, small details of Japan never fail to amaze me - and I love it, even more, every single time.

someDaledreams - Japan 20150015.JPG

Three months passed by really fast and it was time for me to leave. There are two things you can say in Japanese when saying goodbye. Sayonara, if you are going for good or for a really long time. Mata ne if parting for a short period of time.

As I boarded the plane, I uttered not the word ‘sayonara’ but ‘jaa mata’. Not a goodbye but a see you next time.



Photos courtesy of my friends and I. Thank you for reading. Have you been to Shibata or Japan in general? How was the experience?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now