Made it!

28 Oct 2021

Cape Jervis collage

8 weeks and 4 days since leaving Spalding,

after 32 days of walking,

616+ kilometres,

a staggering, extraordinary, awe-inspiring range of scenery,

countless beautiful moments,

legions of challenging trials,

and a full series of joyful occasions spent with family and friends, old and new...

I have made it

The Heysen Trail, from Spalding to Cape Jervis
Spalding to Cape Jervis: half the 1200km Heysen Trail

My trek along the Southern half of the Heysen Trail is done

I have walked from Spalding to Cape Jervis — and experienced eons of beauty along the way

Sitting now, reflecting. Clear mind, calm soul. I smile. What a journey. What an adventure. What a...

...

Words fail

Odyssey, sojourn, pilgrimage, voyage?

Ha!

No

*Throws thesaurus into the sea*

There is no way to encapsulate or express in a word what has been

Though I am truly enriched and grateful

I have never done anything quite like this before, and I had no idea what to expect after taking those first steps, all those days ago

Many people along the way have asked me, why?

What made you want to do this walk?

And I could only give a partial answer...

I love the countryside

For the experience

The challenge

That sort of thing

...

Actually, there's an entire post coalescing on why I decided to go, but the main reason is that I'm seeking

Always seeking


Can't wait to tell the full story


Thanks for your time
focus.folks.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center