Exploring Anchorage, Alaska: The land of the midnight sun

IMG_1183.jpeg
The famous Alaska railroad is what started everything here in Anchorage, Alaska. Now it is the biggest city in the state, and a jumping off site for so many amazing adventures. I've taken this beautiful train up to Denali National Park before, but this trip is all about exploring Prince William Sound.

I flew in late last night to Anchorage, Alaska to start another season as Expedition Leader aboard the Safari Explorer, a small expedition cruise ship. However, even though this is my ninth season doing this in Alaska, it is my first season running trips in Prince William Sound. The last time I flew into Anchorage it was 2016. Heidi and I took our summer break to come up and explore Seward, Homer, and Denali. Seeing the famous blue and yellow Alaska train brought all the memories of that trip back.

My plane landed about 10:30pm, although the sun was still shining brightly. Thirty minutes later, getting out of the uber at the Hilton Anchorage Hotel, the mountains behind the city were still lit up red with light from the setting sun. The same sun welcomed me up at 4am this morning so I figured it was time to get a morning exploratory walk in. I ended up walking all over town, then having a big buffet breakfast back at the Hilton, then doing an even bigger walk down to Ship Creek. There is a wonderful walking path that winds along with the creek. Several early morning fly fishermen were out trying their luck. It was just what I needed to shake off a bit of jetlag and get some steps in before the drive out to meet the boat in Whittier.

IMG_1193.jpeg
The trains have been through a few upgrades since this piece of history.

IMG_1192.jpeg
This is a busy hub as people head north to Denali and Fairbanks, or south to Whittier and Seward aboard the Alaska Railway.

IMG_1174.jpeg
It felt like late afternoon when I landed, even though it was close to 11pm, because the sun was still up in the western sky.

IMG_1191.jpeg
I like this view of old mixed with new. The totem pole, representing the first nations people of the area, the old train engine representing the beginnings of this town and a railway stop, and my hotel, the Hilton Anchorage, in the background, representing the modern city that has emerged.

IMG_1190.jpeg
I enjoyed checking out the bird life down by Ship Creek on my morning walk. This black-billed magpie stayed very close to me.

IMG_1181.jpeg
Such fun memories riding this train.

IMG_1179.jpeg
Cool historical mural of the original Iditarod, from Anchorage to Nome.

IMG_1177.jpeg
Alaska has some big bears. Not pictured is the third species, the black bear.

IMG_1187.jpeg
My advice, if the midnight sun wakes you up early, head to the Bait Shack and do some early morning fly fishing in Ship Creek.

IMG_1184.jpeg
There is a great path along Ship Creek that makes for a wonderful morning nature walk.

IMG_1178.jpeg

IMG_1189.jpeg
An early morning angler trying his luck at Ship Creek in Anchorage, AK.

IMG_1188.jpeg
The old railway bridge has been converted into a pedestrian bridge and a great spot for fishing at Ship Creek.

Check out the location of Ship Creek in Anchorage on pinmapples interactive map here: [//]:# (!pinmapple 61.22375 lat -149.88552 long Ship Creek Alaska d3scr)

And as always, keep traveling!

  • Dai Mar
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center