Pagodas and Peace: My Adventure at Jurong Lake Gardens

I’ve been dreaming of visiting Jurong Lake Gardens for what feels like forever, but life had a funny way of getting in the way. Whether it was last-minute errands or unexpected bad weather, my plans kept getting pushed back; until today! With clear skies finally on my side, I set off on my first adventure to Singapore's far west, ready to explore this beautiful spot.


DJI_0186.jpg

The Twin Pagoda


Most of the time, I hang out on the east side or in the city center, but lately, those places have been feeling more crowded, especially on weekends. So today, I decided to go somewhere calmer and more relaxing.

Jurong Lake Gardens came to mind, knowing that this area doesn’t attract large crowds. Since I’ve never visited before, I figured it was the perfect time and opportunity to check it out.

I started my trip from City Hall MRT station, heading to the Jurong East district. There are plenty of ways to get to Jurong Lake, and among those options, I chose to stop at Chinese Garden MRT station. It seemed like the most direct route to the part of the lake I wanted to explore.

IMG-20241026-WA0043.jpg

A quick 10-minute walk from the station brought me to the main entrance of the Chinese Garden. From the bridge, I could already see the tallest pagoda in the area.

DJI_0059.jpg

The first landmark you’ll see upon entering is the Cloud Pagoda. As the name suggests, it’s the tallest pagoda in the gardens, and you can even spot it from miles away. Unfortunately, it's closed to the public due to safety concerns from wear and tear. For now, visitors can only take selfies with the pagoda from the surrounding area.

DJI_0068.jpg

It’s surrounded by statues of the 12 Chinese zodiac signs.

DJI_0077.jpg

DJI_0083.jpg

What impresses me the most is the intricate detail of the roof, including the detailed carvings on the beams and the supports for the eaves.

DJI_0080.jpg

Jurong Lake Gardens is undergoing renovation in many areas, but there are still plenty of spots to explore. From here, I decided to check out the Ficus Lawn and the Lotus Pond.


Ficus Lawn

I think this is the simplest of the gardens in the area. It seems like a great spot for a picnic or to play frisbee or badminton, as there is a wide-open area with no obstructions at all.

DJI_0093.jpg

DJI_0094.jpg


Tea Pavilion & Lotus Pond

As I stand on the Ficus Lawn, I can see the nearby gardens, one of which is the Sunken Garden, located next to the Lotus Pond. I find it interesting because of its traditional roof design, featuring brightly colored clay tiles.

DJI_0095.jpg

DJI_0107.jpg

The pavilion provides good shelter at this moment, as the sun is quite glaring during my visit. I took about 15 minutes to rest, and while enjoying the shade, I also managed to take more photos of the Lotus Pond and the Stone Boat Pagoda across the view.

DJI_0100.jpg

DJI_0097.jpg

DJI_0104.jpg

DJI_0106.jpg

As I gaze to the left side of the pavilion, I notice a tall statue that piques my interest, so I go to check it out. It’s located next to the Lakeside Garden.

The statue is an impression of Confucius, the famous philosopher from 551 to 479 BCE. One of his well-known quotes is, "Do not do to others what you do not want done to yourself."

DJI_0109.jpg

DJI_0110.jpg

I didn't stay long in this area, as the sun was a bit unbearable, lol. So, I walked around the Lake Garden and headed toward the Grand Arch. It's definitely a massive archway; I could see it from where the statue was, so it caught my attention.

DJI_0114.jpg

Grand Arch

Aside from the pagoda, the Grand Arch is one of the most impressive landmarks in the area. The sheer scale of it can truly make you feel small as you stand beneath and pass through it. This sight reminded me of the "Trial Gate" from Kilua's house in one of my favorite anime, Hunter X Hunter.

The design of the arch and its intricate details make the long walk worthwhile, that's for sure!

DJI_0130.jpg

DJI_0127.jpg

DJI_0126.jpg

DJI_0132.jpg

From here, the next spot I checked out was the Stone Boat Pagoda. However, before I reached it, I passed through the Edible Garden. It was interesting to learn about the variety of plants and vegetables that can be grown in Singapore's soil.

Stone Boat Pagoda

DJI_0152.jpg

What stands out about this pagoda is the unique shape of its base. It’s not actually a boat, but the structure is designed to resemble one, giving the impression that it’s floating on the Lotus Pond.

DJI_0154.jpg

DJI_0159.jpg

DJI_0160.jpg

After taking a quick tour of it, I headed to the next spot: the Twin Pagoda.

When I was at the Grand Arch, I thought I saw two pagodas in the distance. Since they were far away, I assumed they were just small ones. I guess viewing things from a distance distorts my perception of scale, and another reason is that this park is truly enormous.

DJI_0136.jpg

I was surprised to see the scale of the Twin Pagoda.

Twin Pagoda

DJI_0166.jpg

I was intrigued by why they created a Twin Pagoda. I thought pagodas usually stand alone in specific locations, so I did some research and learned that they were designed to replicate China's Spring-Autumn Towers, hence the name "twin."

DJI_0186.jpg

As I stand at the entrance of the bridge leading to the Twin Pagodas, I realize how amazing the view is. While the Cloud Pagoda boasts a towering seven levels, the Twin Pagoda, with its three levels, elevates its appeal by featuring a composition of three pagodas. Seeing two pagodas in a photo absolutely looks stunning!

DJI_0185.jpg

The best part of this experience is that the viewing balconies on the top level are open to the public. Reaching the top tier of the pagoda gave me the opportunity to enjoy a 360-degree view of Jurong Lake.

DJI_0172.jpg

From this vantage point, I had a wonderful view of the other gardens and the activities happening on the lake as well.

DJI_0175.jpg

DJI_0174.jpg

DJI_0180.jpg

DJI_0178.jpg

As I looked out at the surroundings from the balcony of the pagoda, I noticed a sports complex across the lake and saw a group of people in kayaks maintaining a formation. I could hear their coach giving instructions to the students on the direction and speed they should paddle to keep the formation intact. It was an exciting sight to watch them from the top of the pagoda.

DJI_0176.jpg

DJI_0179.jpg

As I descended from the pagoda, I took another look at it and snapped more photos as clouds began to form above me.

DJI_0170.jpg

I took that as a sign to head back home. I realized I had only explored a small area of Jurong Lake Gardens, so I made a mental note to return and discover the other parts of the area. For sure, this post will have a continuation soon!

DJI_0182.jpg


My visit to Jurong Lake Gardens was a delightful experience filled with stunning views and unique landmarks. I can't wait to return and explore more of this beautiful area!


curamax.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center