Visit Nha Trang stone church on a rainy day

I've always admired and appreciated the legacies of foreign civilizations that were left on my country during colonial periods. It's a small slice of their normal culture, and the architecture finest exemplifies it. One of these is the Nha Trang Stone Church, which has Gothic architecture with ancient European traits like towering domes and stained glass windows. Being a devout Catholic, I found that praying or attending Mass didn't always keep me focused as a child. As a child, I was always drawn to the stately cathedral or the big dome, as well as the profound artwork and statues.

gridart_20220110_121741028_1_.jpg

When I was younger, I learned that Westerners introduced Christianity into the country to promote it and build churches based on their architecture, but that when they didn't design the bold characteristics themselves, it was blended with Little Asian architecture. As a result, I've always desired to see unique architecture with a long history.

gopr1643_1_.jpg

Apart from its official name, Christ the King Cathedral, it is often known as the Nha Trang mountain church or the stone church. I can see why it's called a stone church because it's made of stone, a popular and durable material used by Europeans to construct strong strongholds and castles. Because it is situated on a little mountain, the mountain church has been leveled with mines (now it is 11m higher than the road surface below). I've always seen churches erected higher, or the foundation and foundation lifted higher, either because of the noble symbolism of the house of God, or as a shelter from extreme floods for parishioners, as my family did when I was 8 years old.

gopr1628.jpg

gopr1617.jpg

gopr1621.jpg

This splendid cathedral has made it simpler for parishioners to carry out religious activities after nearly three years of building from 1928 to 1933 on the advise of architect Nesty and with the cooperation of priest Louis Vallet and parishioners. (Previously, they had to travel to the far-flung Quy Nhon diocese). It resembles a citadel with its gray brick facade. My greatest regret is that I am unable to visit the cathedral to observe the stone pillars' structure and distinctive decorating owing to the church's closure due to the Covid pandemic. I attended at more than 10 a.m. at the time, and I assume that parishioners can still pray in the afternoon or early morning. In reality, each church is unique. I still prefer the inside because the solemnity and aroma of perfume, light, and God's teachings are all coordinated to make me feel humble and tranquil when I enter.

gopr1619.jpg

gopr1613.jpg

gopr1637.jpg

gopr1609.jpg

gopr1629.jpg

The bell tower is also a noteworthy feature of the church; its angular cylindrical shape, topped by four clocks facing in four directions, is reminiscent of England's Big Ben clock tower.

gopr1631.jpg

gopr1622.jpg

Perhaps this is why many couples choose this location for their wedding photos and young people come here to check in with a unique historic backdrop. Because the church is now placed at a major intersection of six intersections, we can see a portion of the surrounding neighborhood from the church corridor. The property is not very huge, with just enough room for sculptures or steles commemorating those who have rendered meritorious services, as well as the pastors who once oversaw them.

img_20220111_122632_1_.jpg

gopr1611.jpg

gopr1654.jpg

I took a trip around the church, reading the memorials on both sides to have a better understanding of the construction process and benefactor donations. There were not many loud people present, which helped to create a solemn mood in front of the deceased. They were given the vibrant flowers next to them as a present.

gopr1656.jpg

Of course, the priests' and others who looked after me's living quarters were not let in, and the weather was erratic with occasional rains, so I didn't wait to be allowed inside. It's a bummer, and I'll have to wait for a more stable opportunity to visit it again.

Thank you for taking the time to read my article. I wish you happiness.

*** Pictures are mine taken with gopro 8 **

[//]:#(!pinmapple 12.019836 lat 109.129823 long d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center