Lauritzen Gardens Omaha, NE Part IV

Hello Pinmapple community! Spring time is great time to see nature peaking it's beautiful face.Today I take you on a journey of Lauritzen Gardens as part of my Greater of Omaha series. First off I underestimated how much time it would take to fully explore this great place. Also I went in with a low phone charge (20 %) and it went dead, haha.

I was planning to spend about two and half hours here as I had to be someone else later. In order to get a full experience you need at least 6 hours here. It's ok though because there is much to see just inside the building. So this place, deserves more than one article for you to truly appreciate it. I will revisit, I will go back with a fully charged phone, and will allot more time, haha.

Inside contains a rather large showcase floor and 3 green houses. I first check out the many tables of art displays incorporated with flowers. I can really appreciate the creativity of these artists for showing these beautiful display off. There was a competition among all these displays. This was not all that was available to view. The next area I viewed was a favorite of mine.

Alright some of you know I use to have a bonsai tree. It was my baby and I enjoyed caring for it. Let's not go into why I don't have one anymore, let's just say one person got a chewing out. So seeing all these different varieties of bonsai trees was well kind of touching for me.

This display of trees was put on by the Nebraska Bonsai Society. There were society members there to answer questions too. They also offer a workshops which you can sign up for and learn how to care for them. The best part of this workshop is the cost includes everything needed for the care of it, including a tree. I liked how they had some displays that were clippings from other trees. A few were showing signs of looking like a tree while others looked more like a plant.

If I had known of this exhibit beforehand I would have been thier earlier when a speaker was there. The speaker gave a guided tour of all the bonsai trees displayed.

Well I did manage to get away from the tables and not sign up for a workshop. I was tempted a little later as their was a stand selling them too. I tell you I feel like I won not carrying a tree out the door, haha.

My next stop is visiting the green houses. Here I find a lot foreign plants and trees to me. It's all the stuff that wouldn't survive here. I was wearing a sweatshirt that day and I was dying in there. Only was it hot the mist dropping from everywhere made it muggy. I came to think I wouldn't make a good Tarzan in the jungle, haha. There was a third green house that was climate controlled to room temperature and it contained a cafe. Unfortunately it closes at 2:00 so I didn't get to cool off and have some type of exotic beverage. I did stand in there a few minutes knowing I had to make my way back through the other green houses to get to the exit.

We have Angus the Cowfish and Bella the Angel fish. Both fish are found in the coral reefs. These fish are constructed of debris that was removed by the Washed Ashore Organization and volunteers right out of the Pacific Ocean in Brandon, Oregon. The message on the plaque signs is to invest in reusable bags and water bottles or better yet buy biodegradable products to stop the footprint of plastics.

I go fishing a lot and it's just not the ocean that is polluted with plastic and other trash. Inland rivers, lakes, streams, and creeks have plenty as well. We have to be mindful of all habits both wildlife and marine life. Don't be afraid to raise your voice if you see someone throwing there trash where it shouldn't be. I have one rule I do when I'm out in nature and that is to leave it in the same or better condition.

So this place is an amazing place with many gardens. Since Union Pacific is big in this neck of the woods they have a huge electronic train set that runs through a small wooded area. The details of the bridges, under passes, model sized houses/buildings and different kind of trains is amazing. A great adventure for the kids to check out. Heck as a adult I appreciated, I spent a good 30 minutes walking around checking out all of the 3 tracks.

This is a series I am doing on the Greater Omaha Area. If interested please read my previous articles in this series:

River's Edge Park Part I
Council Bluffs Historic Hay Market Part II
Historic Oakland Avenue Part III

Well I seen some gardens on this adventure but I think it's best I include them next time when I walk Lauritzen Gardens and explore all of them. When I have more time and I'm better prepared. Take care and be safe.

All pictures taken with my motorola one 5G UW ace cell phone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency