Historic Oakland Avenue Part III

Hello Pinmapple community. There is just something about the architecture of an older home. A beautiful work of art that highlights a certain period in time. Yesterday I took some time to myself and drove to one of many places where older magnificent houses reside in Council Bluffs, IA. The particular area I will show you is Oakland Avenue.

Let me show and tell you about some of the houses on the street. I can't show and tell you about all of them. Well I could but it may be closer to a book instead of an article. I will also bring to you one of the viewpoints in this city.

510 Oakland Avenue

This was the first house that caught my attention when I drive down the street to find a parking spot. A house exterior made of stone with matching walls along the side walk to match.

This house was built in 1897. The house is referred to as the Burke-Woodard house. Mr. Burke was the first owner and worked as an Attorney. Mr. Woodard lived in the house with his wife for 4 decades. He was the owner of one of the largiest candy business west of the Mississippi River. This house is just sweet isn't it?
Resource

315 Oakland Avenue

This house may not be in perfect shape but I see it as having such great potential. I love the wrap around porch. This one does not have a name it is referred to but it's with stood time as it was built in 1890. There are hundreds of interior/outer pictures of the home on the resource listing below.
Resource Listing

424 Oakland Avenue

A beautiful red brick home done right in
Italian Renaissance style. The home was built in 1900. I just love the simple rectangular shape and the curbside appeal. The concrete stairs to the entrance along with the artifacts near it's entrance are perfect adds to this.
Resource 1

First owner was Dr. Frank Wilson Dean. There are quite a few accounts on the Doctor's practice. He would live in the home until 1940, he sold it and moved elsewhere in town.
Resource 2

301 Oakland Avenue

Another beautiful brick home with a large gorgeous porch. This beauty was built in 1906. The curbside view of these homes is extravagant. Since they are lived in they are not open for view but some retail listings of the past show them off.
Retail listing


402 Oakland Avenue

Another amazing property I just love the landscape here. Also another wrapped porch, I don't know what it is about them but I can imagine sitting in swing seat just relaxing. Maybe even in an extra large hammock to get an outside nap 😴 This property was built in 1887.
Resource

615 Oakland Avenue

I just love these oldier houses with the peaks and wrap around porches. This was has a very appealing stone wall as well giving it some charm to it's curbside. This home was built in 1880.
Resource

608 Oakland Avenue

Another amazing brick house with an attached 3 car garage. I can't say I have ever seen a tree planted in the middle of drive way though. If it was a month later it would have been hidden from site with blooming leaves. I can imagine that tree gives a lot shad. This property was built in 1900.
Resource

Just off of Oakland Ave is a view point of the surrounding areas. There is a statue there that is a tribute to President Abraham Lincoln for his visit at this particular spot back in 1859. This was a big deal for the city of Council Bluffs. The President made the decision for the city to be a major hub for transcontinental railroad. Union Pacific, a major railroad company, is a huge contributer in the surrounding communities.

May not exactly be a bird eye's view but it's up high enough. Afterall it's really flat here so standing on top of a bluff that is approximately 200 feet you can see many miles away. The view point allows you to see the Omaha skyline and a some of Council Bluffs residential areas.

I can imagine President Lincoln's view was very different. It would have been at a time when the river was much wider. Also I can imagine that most of the landscape would have been bare. So there probably weren't many houses, buildings, or even trees.

This is a series I am doing on the Greater Omaha Area. If interested please read my previous articles in this series:

River's Edge Park Part I
Council Bluffs Historic Hay Market Part II

Before I end this article I'm curious to know what home would you pick to be your favorite. It's a tough one for me but I'm going with 510 Oakland Avenue. It just gives me some really good vibes. I have many more things to show in this area. There are a few other residential areas with many more historic houses. Is this something you want more of? I like looking and dreaming of living in places like these.

Take care and be safe. Love you all ❀️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency