Rivers Edge Park Part I

River's Edge Park is a park that connects two cities in two different states. The park is located in Council Bluffs, Iowa. Across the river is Omaha, Nebraska. Yes there is a couple of interstates that connect these two cities but there's only one walking bridge and it's at this park. These are my short travel experiences the last two days.


This is Part I of a series I will continue on with showing you a little bit about where I live. I have lived in this area since 1994. It's not my first home but my adopted and now home. Since I will share and tell you about these two cities in the future I figured it would be a good start mentioning a park that is easily accessible from both cities. You can either walk or ride a bike on the bridge over the Missouri River. Both sides have a self serve stations to rent bikes if you don't have your own.

This park is special in that it used for outdoor concerts, outdoor movie nights, recreational soccer ⚽ (aka Football everywhere else) leagues, connections to other trails and many other events. The park has a rather large pavilion for rent, a good size walking/running area, plenty of benches, picnic tables, and a decent small sized play ground. Also you will find some unique and different art.


Let's start our walk across the bridge

The total to time to get across the bridge is about 12 minutes. What lies on the Nebraska side you will see shortly. Let's get stepping and see what we see along the way first.


First thing I snap is the amazing view of the river. Oh I really do enjoy my river time. Just beyond the midway point is where the border is between the two states. Here's our opportunity to be in two places at once. Just so you know I am a Bob but I am not Bob the bridge though, lol. As the sign says let's do some 'Bobbing'.

Along the way you will see many plaques telling the history of the river. From how it is used as resource, what damns have done to wildlife including native fishes, history of past cultures that lived off of it, and what is being done to improve and preserve it. Being in the center you can see the Omaha skyline and past that there is a hidden place called the old market. Sorry market goers that will be another time. Looking back you can see the park we just left. The park is on the outskirts of Council Bluffs.

The Nebraska side

It's not another park but a lot of side walks with a few stone statues. There is also a good sized area that shows native grasses and flowers. Sorry there are none blooming yet just dead grass. It will be a few more weeks when beauty will show.

I found interest in Omar the troll. A true river troll who I'm sure uses his cane as a fishing pole also. I looked over to his right and seen a bench with a statue of a man sitting on it. I come closer and realized it's actually a real man. He was in all black, not going to lie that freaked me out a bit. I almost thought of taking a picture earlier about 15 feet away, lol.

Next I run into the stone tablet that illustrates what the river was like before and how it is now. It reads it was warm, wide, and slow while now it's straight, deep, and narrow. I guess one who fishes this river a lot appreciates this kind of art and the little history lesson it leaves. Shortly after I walk a little further to see a stone chicken leaving her stone eggs. I thought maybe she was in pain those are awfully big eggs, right?

I'm sure you know I enjoyed the stone statue of the sturgeon fish. I kind of wish they had more stoned fish exhibits. Where's the sculpture tell me know? 😂

The walk back across the bridge

My journey is soon to end on the bridge and this neat park. I take a photo of the entrance to the bridge on the Nebraska side. I also take one last photo of a signage from Bob. The very last photo I take is of a river boat on the river. As you can see in the distance there is still some snow in the low hills. It should be gone in a couple of days if we don't get any more snow 🤞 This is just a start, this area has a lot to offer. Maybe after a few parts one might find it interesting to visit. Thanks for stopping by and this is Bob getting off the Bob and departing the park,lol

All pictures are mine and were taken with my phone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency