A Short Visit to Bonsai Island

Last month, we decided to have a 3-day vacation in our hometown of Alaminos, Pangasinan Philippines. One of the highlights of our stay was our visit in Bonsai Island.

After a 15-minute boat ride, we reached Bonsai Island, one of the new attractions in the National Park of Hundred Islands.

There are 124 islands in the Hundred Islands, but my uncle chose to introduce us to this newly developed island since we would run out of time if we tried to visit each one. Besides, we had already visited other islands in the past few years.

As our boat docked on the fine, white sand of Bonsai Island, everyone was obviously excited to get down and wander around. We helped each other out of the boat so no one would slip and fall into the water. Although it was tempting to indulge in the crystal-clear water, that wasn't the main agenda for our visit to the island. Besides, there was a great view uphill, so it was good to take pictures first.

One of the things we noticed upon getting out of the boat was the unpleasant smell. It wasn't very strong, but it had a noticeable odor of human feces, which was hard to ignore. In fact, one of my younger cousins even exclaimed that it smelled like poop. I even agreed and whispered to my mother that it smelled like someone had a bad time on the island. However, my uncle and aunt laughed it off and assured us it wasn't poop. At first, I thought they were just bluffing to prevent us from having a negative impression of the island, but later I found out that the origin of the smell isn't human waste, and they were telling the truth, which amazed me.

We soon discovered the source of the smell — it's Bangar tree! I never heard of it before and it's something that I don't want in my backyard 😂. It's a great alternative tho if you have an enemy and you want to throw something in their backyard that will make them out of their mind.

There’s a staircase going to the top of the island. If you have weak knees, you might have a hard time going up. You can crawl if you really want to. Kidding aside, it's not very steep, and you will be distracted by the beautiful scenery along the way. You won’t feel any tiredness, trust me.

Of course, Bonsai Island wouldn’t be Bonsai Island without any bonsai trees. Along the steps, you can see various species of bonsai. The good thing is, there are names and some information provided for each one. If they weren't labeled, I would have called any small plant a bonsai!

After being captivated by the sights along the way up, I didn't realize that we had finally reached the top. From here, I could see the majestic beauty of the Hundred Islands. "Wow" was the only word that came out of my mouth as my eyes wandered around. Everything seemed to sync and harmoniously complement each other; the vibrant rays of the sun amplified the lush green vegetation of the nearby islands and the crystal blue water surrounding them. "It's beautiful here, isn't it?" my mom said, and I agreed. Indeed, it is truly beautiful here.

Honestly, I could spend the whole day just watching the clouds, feeling the breeze, and watching the boats pass by. But I needed to make the most of the day and gather memories, so I invited my family to take pictures for us to have keepsakes.

I asked my aunt for a favor to take a picture of us, and this is the result. Behind us is the view of the tall and huge statue of Jesus Christ located on another island, and a DIY bridge made with empty water containers that connects Bonsai Island to another nearby island.

Not far from here, there's also a temple with Greek architectural elements. It has a painting of spiral clouds on its ceiling. Of course, because of its aesthetics, we didn't miss the opportunity to take pictures. However, I ended up with an awkward smile because several individuals were looking up at me while my brother was taking pictures. I wish I could have spent more time conceptualizing some creative shots, hahaha.

After taking some photographs, we decided to call and gather the family to move to another island. Can you guess which island we'll visit next?

We had a great time on Bonsai Island! Even though it was just a short visit, my eyes were satisfied with what I saw. From the different species of bonsai to the breathtaking views, Bonsai Island never disappoints. I'm sure my companions felt the same way because as we made our way to another island, we became even more excited about what Hundred Islands National Park would still offer.


About the author

Follow me on X || Let's connect on Discord

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center