CLIFF CABANAS in CATMON, CEBU!


CLIFF CABANAS RESORT IN CATMON, CEBU


One of the best options for teachers to loosen up is going to beach excursions. Because there is just something in the saltwater that takes the stress and worries away. Well, I hope I am making sense here. So, when we learned that there was a non-working holiday coming up, our small faction in the school decided to spend our sinking fund for a getaway at Catmon, Cebu.

We agreed to go to Cliff Cabanas located in Catmon, Cebu. It is a new name for me, so it was kind of interesting and a good catch. We also were convinced because of their good marketing strategy on their Facebook page. But let's see if it is prize-worthy and if it would really be a place to unwind and relax.

31E1808B-0251-4F5A-A9BE-82DD635E5E26.jpeg

Our call time was 6:00 AM but my co-teachers arrived one hour later. Well, that is always the case every time we go out. So, maybe I have to be wiser next time so that I would never wait that long again. I should stop the curse of being an early bird - the curse of waiting for the late birds. But still, it was a beautiful day... so no time for drama and negative energy!

The drive going to the place took almost two hours (Mandaue to Catmon). I was comfortably sitting in the backseat beside the love of my life, Grace. Although, this was our first time there we were able to locate the place even without the use of google maps or Waze because the resort is by the highway. It is exactly situated in Panalipan, Catmon, Cebu before reaching St. Joseph Parish Church.

827B3555-D72A-4F72-A7B5-37026DC22B75.jpeg

We had no idea that this resort had just opened its gate for beach-goers just recently. So, I was expecting already that there are still ongoing constructions and developments inside but I was more excited and engrossed to see what they could offer in their soft opening.

28B00BC6-892B-4D73-9B69-00343B39753A.jpeg


LET'S GO IN


As we enter the resort, we were greeted by a small but clean parking area. So, I do not think this resort can accommodate many guests and can readily accept walk-ins so I think it is best to book ahead of time especially during this time of the pandemic. They also have a small front desk and counter where you can transact all your concerns and inquiries. It is covered with plastic for safety purposes against Covid19 which makes it look untidy. However, the attendant was very friendly, accomodating, and informative which for me is very important.


After talking with the attendant, I followed my colleagues who were excited to go to the cottage that we reserved for us, but I paused from time to time to take some pictures of their receiving area/parking area as well as their beautifully constructed nipa huts or cabanas. I was impressed how they strategically situated three cabanas in a small and steep place.


As we went down the cemented stairs I understand why this resort is named “Cliff Cabanas”, because the cabanas are literally situated in the cliff. Going down was a bit challenging because the width of the stairs is relatively short and it was steep. You would also see how they maximize the small area because the cabanas are just sprouting like mushrooms anywhere and they also managed to build a small pool on the cliff.

F18E93D0-A5D0-4CF2-8153-4FE73E813367.jpeg

Basically, you would appreciate how practical the owner and the architect of this resort are. However, at the back of my mind, I also think that the aesthetic sense of the resort was compromised for the sake of profit. Just a personal thought tho.


MY FAVORITE VIEW


Although I was disappointed with the arrangement of the structures, I still found my favorite spot and view. Look how spectacular the view of this cabana is with the rich and enchanting beauty of the ocean. Imagine staying in this cabana with your significant half for a day or two, surely you will regain all your physical and mental strength.

* * * * *

We continued going down the steep stairs until we were directed to our cottage. The cottage was obviously small for twelve people. In fact, we saw a signboard that it is only good for four people if the safety protocol is strictly followed.

D5ED80CE-ADF8-4C9D-9F9F-E3B9C85592DE.jpeg

Although we were told that we can transfer to another cottage, we preferred to stay because it is the best spot to view the vast ocean. It was also close to the pool where two kids of my co-teacher were having a great time. We paid 30 USD for this cottage.

I continued to go down the stairs to meet the water and see the beauty. As usual, Catmon Cebu also has one of the clearest waters in Cebu so, it was so exciting to start changing to my swimwear and then enjoy the water. But, I decided to continue taking pictures of the place.

A5F47C79-FFD2-4A84-B3C2-048444EA851D.jpeg

The resort boasts about their rock formations and their cave-like thingy. It was good but it was not as interesting as the caves in Camotes Island, Cebu. However, it was the perfect place to hide from the heat of the sun.

So, when I was done taking pictures of the place, I went up to eat and to change to my swim attire because I really love the saltwater. There's something about it that relaxes and massages my worn out and stressed body!

128F2FD4-787D-4519-B51C-BE2E8215F06B.jpeg

CriteriaScoreHighest Score
Prize15
Cleanliness55
View35
Resort Design25
Beach55
Total Score1625

36B2C55C-E24C-4D88-936B-D1F894E4B042.gif


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center