Basílica da Estrela & Jardim Guerra Junqueiro (Lisbon/ Portugal)

thumbnail.jpg

wanna come with me for a little walk?

Heyho guys, all good in your hood?

Today I invite you for a little walk through a park in lisbon. We have such beautiful places here, even if you are in the city, you always find some calm nature spots.

Screenshot of the area Google maps.jpg

Screenshot from Googlemaps

Date:

November 20th, 2022

Adress:

Location: Basílica da Estrela & Jardim Guerra Junqueiro

photos were taken by myself and my Huawei P30 phone

01.jpg

02.jpg

03.jpg

04.jpg

05.gif

Basílica da Estrela

I started my walk here. If I would translate the name it would means something like "Basilica of the Star". Sound magnificent isn't it? It's a really #historical #church.

This church has many, many names in #Portuguese, for example it's sometimes called "Royal Basilica" or "Convent of the Sacred Heart of Jesus", it is a #Catholic temple and an #ancient Carmelite convent in the center of #Lisbon (#Portugal).
This #basilica has many more names, but I will not list them all here.

It is a very large church, decorated with a #dome, located on a small hill in the west of Lisbon. It is also one of the landmarks of #Lapa (the parish of Nossa Senhora da Lapa à Estrela, or simply the parish of Lapa). It is located exactly opposite the "Garden of the Star", where we will go for #walk today. I thought it is worth to mentioning some infos about this #building. After all, this #architectural work dates back to 1779 and was finally completed in 1790, so it is already a few centuries old.

Since 1907 the "Basilica of the Star" has been officially classified as a #national #monument.

But enough about the church, let's go for a walk. Lets goooooo.

06.jpg

07.jpg

08.jpg

09.jpg

010.jpg

011.jpg

012.jpg

013.jpg

014.jpg

015.gif

Jardim Guerra Junqueiro (or Jardim da Estrela)

The Guerra Junqueiro Garden, also known as the #Estrela #Garden, was created in the 19th century - 1842 to be more specific.
This garden is a #naturalistic one with a kind of #romantic style. I think the #inspiration for that style came from the English #parks at that time.

The flora and fauna here are very interesting and wonderful to look at, both in their number and in their diversity. Also some #animals like #ducks or #turtles you will find here, close to a Café area. The #featheredfriends of hive would surely like this area, I think.

016.jpg

017.jpg

018.jpg

019.jpg

020.jpg

021.jpg

022.jpg

023.jpg

We have even a Tangerines tree standing arround here and some historical #statues.
024.jpg

025.jpg

026.jpg

027.jpg

Here for example. This marble statue of "Antero do Quental" is located in the park.
The #Sculptor was Salvador Carvão da Silva d'Eça Barata Feyo. He lived 1899 - 1990. It is another amazing #statue to honor the great Antero Quental who lived 1842-1891. He was a #Poet and #realistic #philosopher. This statue of him is portrayed standing on cubic plinth, in an evocative pose for his marvelous work.

Lets see what we find next.

028.jpg

029.jpg

This one up here is one of my favorite flowers and we have them nearly everywhere around. 🌸✨💕

030.jpg

031.jpg

032.jpg

I love this kind of trees, even if I don't know the name of it. Sorry, I have not much #botanical knowledge. What a shame. But if you know more about it, feel free to let me know in a comment. 💖

033.jpg

034.jpg

I would love to tell more about this woman statue but there where no artist sign or more information on it, so I even don't know who has created it. 😔

Anyway, its again beautiful and shows the ancient romantic style of the female aspect.

035.jpg

045.jpg

046.jpg

Iron bandstand

What you see here is the so-called Music Pavilion in this park. It was moved from the first public park "Paseo Público da Avenida da Liberdade" to this park in 1932 by decision of the city.
This pavilion was built in 1884 and for a certain time even Lindy Hop classes were offered here. Funny isn't it?

Now let me she you another beautiful and very old tree. For some it's only a tree but for me this shows #patience and #ancient time.
036.jpg

037.jpg

038.jpg

039.jpg

040.jpg

041.jpg

042.jpg

043.jpg

044.jpg

A lot of people were around here so I didn't make a panorama. To many strange people would be on the photo. But its a great, marvel and biiiiiig tree. You even need to climb on the roots a bit. I love such old trees. Please humanity, don't kill them anymore. We need this old giants sooooo much.

047.jpg

048.jpg

Here another entrance of the park.

049.jpg

050.jpg

At least I wanna show you the last statue for today. It's exactly in front of this entrance. This is the "Pedro Álvares Cabral Monument", the statue is a replica of a similar monument in Rio de Janeiro and was a gift from #Brazil to #Portugal.

Hope you liked all of the #impressions today. Of course the park is much bigger and I didn't showed all but I think 50 #photos are enough for today and maybe I inspired you to take a walk by your own through it and #discover it by yourself.

Feel free to leave a comment.

Your @akida aka TrinityArt

20221107_153353.gif

Check out all of my NFT Art here:

https://nftshowroom.com/akida/gallery

Picsart_22-03-23_23-14-32-159.jpg

TrinityArt nftshowroom banner.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center