Diving into the unpredictable.

This publication was also writen in SPANISH and PORTUGUESE.

brazil_ireland01.jpg

MigraMundo

The dream of living in another country (Australia, United States, Canada, Dubai, New Zealand or Ireland), studying English, for a certain period of time has always been one of my greatest desires. For financial reasons, I chose to go to Ireland, and despite the initial fear (because the English spoken and taught there is British and not American, which is the type of language I have always been more familiar with) and all the adverse situations, I can say that I would do it again because it was a very enriching experience (both financially and personally).

In my opinion, I would not be considered an “immigrant”, because I lived in a city far from the Irish capital, and I only lived there for eight months. However, even though I was immersed in the idea of studying English in another country where this language is a native language, I disregarded the part about being seen as someone who arrived from another country. At the end of the first week, I was reminded of this, when I got my first job. Friends of other nationalities also had to rely on luck to find a job and many did.

brazil_ireland02.png

The Feel Good Lab

I worked at a local supermarket, and during the job interview the recruiter asked me if I was enjoying my life as an immigrant and what my plans were for the future. I found it confusing having to answer those questions with so little time living in another country, so I answered more basic things, but focusing on the short-term future. From then on, I started to see myself as an immigrant, but acting like a native. In practice, my days were relatively “normal”, but the days of some friends from other countries were more difficult.

At times, it was as if I was “fighting” to stay immersed within that new reality, and the ideal of seeing myself as a “non-Brazilian” in the European environment gave me a new perspective. It's not about forgetting my nationality, but about understanding that I was there, living in another moment. So I started to see things in a different way. Still, some customs didn't make me a native. Simple acts, which are part of their everyday life, but which were something totally different from mine as a Brazilian.

brazil_ireland03.png

Dictie

For example, Irish people drink beer as if it were water. I don't drink beer (or any other alcoholic drink) and sometimes, in pubs with some friends I wasn't seen as a “native” because of that. In other job interviews, it was clear that available positions were actually being prioritized by Europeans and any other nationality seemed not to have a chance in certain sectors. Even when it came to skin or hair color, the difference was seen and felt. Fortunately, I never experienced anything that bad, but there was deliberate segregation.

There was no shortage of moments where I was there, but felt like I wasn't. The differences in thoughts, customs, a set of actions and so many other different contexts always reminded me of who I was. I think that the life of an immigrant will always be something very complex and no matter how much someone tries to enter another country with this objective, there will always be a certain distrust from other people about who you are. Despite not having experienced anything that had a negative impact on me, living there for eight months gave me a different perception about being an immigrant.


Sumergirse en lo impredecible.

El sueño de vivir en otro país (Australia, Estados Unidos, Canadá, Dubai, Nueva Zelanda o Irlanda), estudiando inglés, durante un tiempo determinado siempre ha sido uno de mis mayores anhelos. Por motivos económicos elegí ir a Irlanda, y a pesar del miedo inicial (porque el inglés que se habla y enseña allí es británico y no americano, que es el tipo de lengua que siempre he conocido más) y todas las situaciones adversas, Puedo decir que lo volvería a hacer porque fue una experiencia muy enriquecedora (tanto económica como personalmente).

En mi opinión, no sería considerado un “inmigrante”, porque vivía en una ciudad alejada de la capital irlandesa, y sólo viví allí ocho meses. Sin embargo, a pesar de que estaba inmerso en la idea de estudiar inglés en otro país donde este idioma sea nativo, descarté la parte de ser visto como alguien que llegó de otro país. Al final de la primera semana, me acordé de esto, cuando conseguí mi primer trabajo. Amigos de otras nacionalidades también tuvieron que confiar en la suerte para encontrar trabajo y muchos lo hicieron.

Trabajaba en un supermercado local y durante la entrevista de trabajo el reclutador me preguntó si estaba disfrutando de mi vida como inmigrante y cuáles eran mis planes para el futuro. Me resultó confuso tener que responder esas preguntas con tan poco tiempo viviendo en otro país, así que respondí cosas más básicas, pero enfocándome en el futuro a corto plazo. A partir de ahí comencé a verme como un inmigrante, pero actuando como un nativo. En la práctica, mis días eran relativamente “normales”, pero los días de algunos amigos de otros países eran más difíciles.

Por momentos, era como si estuviera “luchando” por permanecer inmerso en esa nueva realidad, y el ideal de verme como un “no brasileño” en el ambiente europeo me dio una nueva perspectiva. No se trata de olvidar mi nacionalidad, sino de comprender que estuve ahí, viviendo otro momento. Entonces comencé a ver las cosas de otra manera. Aún así, algunas costumbres no me convirtieron en nativo. Actos simples, que forman parte de su cotidianidad, pero que eran algo totalmente diferente al mío como brasileño.

Por ejemplo, los irlandeses beben cerveza como si fuera agua. No bebo cerveza (ni ninguna otra bebida alcohólica) y a veces, en los pubs con algunos amigos, no me veían como un “nativo” por eso. En otras entrevistas de trabajo quedó claro que los puestos disponibles eran en realidad priorizados por los europeos y que cualquier otra nacionalidad parecía no tener posibilidades en determinados sectores. Incluso cuando se trataba del color de la piel o del cabello, la diferencia se veía y se sentía. Afortunadamente, nunca experimenté nada tan malo, pero hubo una segregación deliberada.

No faltaron momentos en los que estuve allí, pero sentí que no estaba. Las diferencias de pensamientos, costumbres, un conjunto de acciones y tantos otros contextos diferentes siempre me recordaron quién era yo. Creo que la vida de un inmigrante siempre será algo muy complejo y por mucho que alguien intente entrar a otro país con este objetivo, siempre habrá cierta desconfianza por parte de las demás personas sobre quién eres. A pesar de no haber experimentado nada que me impactara negativamente, vivir allí durante ocho meses me dio una percepción diferente sobre ser inmigrante.


Mergulhando no imprevisível.

O sonho de viver em algum outro país (Austrália, Estados Unidos, Canadá, Dubai, Nova Zelândia ou Irlanda), estudando Inglês, por um certo período de tempo sempre foi um dos meus maiores desejos. Por razões financeiras, eu escolhi ir para a Irlanda, e apesar do receio inicial (porque lá o Inglês falado e ensinado é britânico e não americano, que é o tipo de idioma que eu sempre estive mais familiarizado) e de todas as situações adversas, eu posso dizer que faria de novo porque foi uma experiência bastante enriquecedora (tanto no seu aspecto financeiro quando no aspecto mais pessoal).

No meu pensamento, eu não seria considerado como um “imigrante”, porque eu fiquei morando em uma cidade longe da capital irlandesa, e morei apenas por oito meses lá. No entanto, apesar de eu estar imerso na ideia de estudar Inglês em um outro país onde essa língua é um idioma nativo, eu desconsiderei a parte de ser visto como alguém que chegou de um outro país. Logo no final da primeira semana eu fui lembrado isso, quando eu consegui o meu primeiro emprego. Amigos de outras nacionalidades também precisaram contar com a sorte para arrumar emprego e muitos conseguiram.

Eu trabalhei em um supermercado local, e durante a entrevista de emprego a recrutadora me perguntou se eu estava gostando da minha vida de imigrante e quais eram os meus planos para o futuro. Eu achei confuso ter que responder aquelas perguntas com tão pouco tempo vivendo em um outro país, então, eu respondi coisas mais básicas, mas tendo um foco no futuro de curto prazo. A partir daí, eu comecei a me enxergar como um imigrante, mas agindo como nativo. Na prática, os meus dias eram relativamente “normais”, mas os dias de alguns amigos de outros países era mais difícil.

Em alguns momentos, era como se eu estivesse “lutando” para me manter imerso dentro daquela nova realidade, e o ideal de enxergar a mim mesmo como um “não brasileiro” no meio europeu me trouxe uma nova perspectiva. Não se trata de esquecer à minha nacionalidade, mas de entender que eu estava ali, vivendo um outro momento. Sendo assim eu comecei enxergar as coisas de uma maneira diferente. Mesmo assim, alguns costumes não me tornaram um nativo. Atos simples, que fazem parte do cotiado deles, mas que era algo totalmente diferente do meu enquanto um brasileiro.

Por exemplo, irlandeses bebem cerveja como se fosse água. Eu não bebo cerveja (nem qualquer outra bebida alcoólica) e algumas vezes, nos pubs com alguns amigos eu não era visto como um “nativo” por causa disso. Em outras entrevistas de emprego, era visível que as vagas disponíveis estavam sendo realmente priorizadas por europeus e qualquer outra nacionalidade parecia não ter uma chance em determinados setores. Até mesmo na questão da pele ou cor de cabelos, a diferença era vista e sentida. Felizmente, eu nunca vivenciei nada de tão ruim, mas havia uma segregação deliberada.

Não faltaram momentos onde eu estava lá, mas parecia não estar. As diferenças de pensamentos, de costumes, de um conjunto de ações e de tantos outros contextos diferentes sempre me lembravam de quem eu era. Eu acho que à vida de um imigrante sempre será algo bem complexo e por mais que alguém tente se inserir dentro de outro país com esse objetivo, sempre haverá uma certa desconfiança das outras pessoas sobre quem é você. Apesar de não ter vivido nada que tenha me marcado negativamente, viver por oito meses lá me trouxe uma outra percepção sobre ser um imigrante.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments