Samantha And The Bee

I watched as Samantha's countenance changed. She was reading the dictionary. I wondered why one would sit down and read the dictionary, but on second thought, I wouldn't blame her. There was a spelling bee coming up in our class, and she was part of the contestants representing our school.

I remember our teacher saying in class
"Study hard guys, read, explore new words be like Akeelah and the bee' read the dictionary''

After that pep talk, all Samantha has done is bury her face in the big old dictionary her father bought years back. I'm rooting for her but I'm also wondering how someone reads a dictionary. I mean it's filled with so many words.

I never knew Samantha felt the same way, too, until she spoke out that evening, "Why are there so many words?" She grumbled, looking at me.

"I don't know", I replied, and clearly, I couldn't tell why there were so many words too. And I heard that as each day goes by, new words are being manufactured. Like hoodies, one gets to know all these words.

Just then, her brother peeked out his head into the room "Still studying?"

Samantha nodded.

"Alright, that's enough for the day. All work and no play makes us dull right?" He asked, we nodded. "Come on guys, let's go grab some ice cream"

Finally, I couldn't tell how pleased I was to hear that. Q little bit of fresh air for Samantha wouldn't hurt. She has been reading that book all day long.

A few weeks later, Samantha made it to the finals of the spelling bee. She proved to me that one can study the dictionary.

image souce

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center