Missing Out on Life Experiences

doctor_gb6e31915c_1920.jpg

Scaly, rough, greasy, flaky, bumpy, red, inflamed. How most people would describe most skin problems. Solutions include lotions, creams, steroids, sleep, water, less fatty diet, more fatty diet. Maybe just exercise too? Or less sun, that works as well.

     I sat in the waiting room for my appointment to the dermatologist, with a rotting pustule eating away at the skin on my right thigh. It was painful, and leaky, and I got it after taking a spill on my bike two months ago. I gave it a cursory wipe with a towel and made sure to rinse it off, but it just got worse and worse for the following two weeks. Went to my GP and got an appointment. Just a six week wait, they said. As my thigh wound festered and stunk. I think this is more advanced than what most people would think of when ‘skin problems’ comes to mind.

     I missed out on my date with Sally Johnson because of it. We were going to go swimming at the leisure centre. I’d get to see her in a bikini. But, alas, the joys of being young and fit means that if anything gross but non-life threatening happens, you’re put to the back of the list. Can’t swim with the sore, can’t wear trousers with the sore, can’t play outside with the sore. God damn I wish I could have seen Sally in her bikini.


Today's prompt: skin problems

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest can be found here: @mariannewest/day-1553-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-skin-problems

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency