Ouzo and Laundry Chutes, a Freewrite

image.png

"Are you kidding me? I DESERVE A MEDAL FOR THAT!"

My Uncle Tony was ranting and raving again. Something about a goose this time. I tended to tune all those old geezers out at our holiday parties. They sat around the table, slogging ouzo and yelling at each other, in between laughing with each other, and now and then getting up to pee.

As the only being under 30 there, and I was 6, I got bored.

So that night there was the laundry chute. I'd never seen a laundry chute before. I tried to puzzle out what on earth it did. I tipped out the bin, stared down the chute, and started to sing "The Saints Come Marching In" as loud as I could down the chute. We had spent all week at school learning it. The sound in the dining room was deafening.

My Uncle Tony was the drunkest one at the table. He stood up, saluted, and began drumming the table, heavily. Heavily enough to spill the entire bottle of ouzo into the lap of his wife Aunt Katie, who was dressed in the finest of silk kimonos, an obi around her waist and all.

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is medal.

Some freewrites wrap themselves up nicely in five minutes, and some do not. I guess you can probably tell which this one is.

If anyone finishes it, I'll give you a prize.



image

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center