A memory from the film The Boy in the Plastic Bubble

image.png
Source

 

I recently found out that one of my childhood friends died due to a disease that attacked his immune system, I thought it was AIDS but later I found out that it was not, that it was something he had latent and for unknown reasons it developed.

This took me back a few years to the past when we enjoyed a movie with our family on a black and white TV, where a young Jhon Travolta played the role of a boy who was born without immune defences and lived in a room or plastic bubble, I can't remember at the moment.

With the appearance of AIDS years later many associated this condition with the film but there was nothing in common, as in that case he was born without defences while in AIDS the virus destroys them.

A while ago, before writing this post, I started to search and I found out that the film was based on the true story of two young men, one called David Phillip Vetter and the other Ted DeVita and that the name of the disease is Severe Combined Immunodeficiency.

The truth is that this film had a great impact in those years and was seen by almost everyone in the place where I lived.

I had a friend at the time, one of those who cries at everything, who spent a week shedding tears remembering the love story of the young man and his neighbour Gina, and as a curious coincidence, she ended up becoming the wife of the friend who recently died of the disease.

Tonight I will watch the film again, as I got it on the internet.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now