Fell Dragon Book 3 Part 33


Greetings All

I hope you all have had an amazing weekend. I had a few days to chill, unfortunately, I didn't have much time to write thanks to the rolling blackouts. Luckily, I have 300-odd pages coming up, so I'm ahead for posting.

Today is a chill read. This week is two short updates before we get close to the end and introduce the Fell Dragon. Today we get to meet Bahn, Larden's eldest son and named after the man that practically saved Saasha. Enjoy the read!

Dinner was a rowdy affair for the most part. Bahn hadn’t been home in over a year, as he was on the Guard with Mertz on the other Saith planet. He had not been aware of Saita being in his childhood home. He had lost good friends to the human war and seeing one of the creatures responsible for the war seated at the dinner table was almost too much to bear. As soon as he saw her, he could feel the muscles in his arms bunch, and his hands clenched.

“If you can’t be nice then you can leave.” Reminded his mother as she lightly tapped a wooden spoon she had been cooking with on top of his head.

Saita squirmed uncomfortably in her seat before getting to her feet and saying. “I think I should go.”

“No.” sighed Bahn as he sat down heavily next to his father. “Apologies. I should not hold grudges against your whole species.”

The young man looked like his father except for the dark black hair and a scar that cut diagonally from left to right across his lips, extending from the side of his nose to his chin. He wasn’t as big as his father and looked like he may have been recovering from an illness as he looked so tired.

Jethron looked at him in concern and asked. “How long have you been sick?”

“A week? I just can’t shake this cold. Mostly been on bed rest but someone has to cook.”

“You can come home for a bit.” Said Danna. “Especially if you are ill.”

“The twins need to be looked after and I am all they have now.”

“How are they?” asked Sash as she reached across the table to hold her older brother’s hand.

“Getting stronger but not great. They’re out of the hospital now and suckling but their appetites are not good.”

Saita didn’t want to impose on a private family affair, so she remained quiet and minded her own business.

“Let me transfer to a hospital on Brucel’s planet. I can’t replace their mother, but I can help.” Said Sash.

Bahn squeezed her hand and said. “I can’t ask that of you.”

“You aren’t. I am offering. You have been through enough. Let us carry some of your burdens.”

“Shannon has gone to my planet for some rest with her pregnancy. If is it easier, I can have a wet nurse take care of your twins until they are a little stronger. You need to look out for yourself too.” Added Jethron.

“I need to be a good father now.”

“But you are.” Said Larden. “But you also need to realise if you make yourself sick with worry then where will that leave your sons? Your daughter is fine at the Academy, but the twins need you now.”

The man gritted his teeth, trying to hide his emotions, but that was impossible as his mother hugged him. “I miss her so much! She gave everything to ensure our boys could breathe life.”

His wife died in childbirth two months ago.

Saita nodded her head. She decided that she was simply going to stay out of the man’s way to prevent him from feeling any more unnecessary trauma.

“That’s it. I’m putting a call in now.” Said Sash. “You can’t change my mind.”
She got up from the table and left to make a call.

“Damnit.” Hissed the man from the depths of his mother’s chest. “I was holding it together so well.”

“Where are the boys?” asked Larden.

“Their paediatrician said travel is not a good thing for them right now. Brucel organised a wet nurse for them and then demanded that I accompany him. I didn’t want to come…”

“Well, I am glad you did.” Said Danna as she released her son. “You need some good food, and good rest and then you can go back to your sons refreshed.”

Sash returned and said. “Done, starting next month I will be on Brucel’s planet. I will be living with you so get used to it.”

“Sash…”

“Family sticks together, no matter what.”

That remark caught Saita off guard, and she had to clamp down hard on her own emotions over her son. She longed for her own family and knew that they were so close, but she could not go to them hurt. She kept her eyes on the plate before her that was starting to fill with food, she knew she would have to choke down.

“You don’t talk much, do you?” asked Bahn suddenly.

He spoke to her in Saith and though she had gotten some practice in while being on the planet she was struggling with the right words.

“I’m not that good at your language.” She said softly as she started to play with her food.

“I apologise for my actions. The war was not kind to my unit, and I believe you are Saita, the one Karesh threatened us with.”

“Bahn!” warned Larden.

“No!” said Saita. “Let him get it off his chest.”

She then looked to Bahn. “I am Saita. Karesh was my father.”

“Is he dead?” Bahn seemed confused.

“No, I’m banished.”

Bahn gave her the same look of pity as what every other Saith gave her when they heard her say that except, he then chuckled, grinned and said. “Yeah, welcome to the family. You’ll fit right in.”

The comment surprised her as the table laughed in reply. Bolx had to whisper in her ear. “The day Saasha was born was the day our father was banished from the Saith home world. That’s why there is such a large age gap between my siblings and her.”

“Is that why you allowed me in your home?” she asked Larden.

“One of many, Saita. Come, eat, it has been a very, very long time that I have had most of my family this close together.”

“I forgot something.” Sash climbed to her feet.

“Tail down.” Said Danna as she continued to dish the stew from a giant pot.
“I’ll be right back.” She disappeared into her room.

“Scatter brained as always.” Laughed Bahn. “Is it okay that she helps me with the boys?”

Saita swirled her food around and longed for something that didn’t taste like ash. She got all the nutrients she needed but sometimes she missed the taste of food. It was mostly fruit that she could taste but everything else was a waste to her.

“Here you go.” Sash put a bottle on the table.

Saita looked at it with interest and then asked. “What is this?”

“You barely eat, figured the taste bothered you. Maybe this can help.” Sash sat back down and grinned. “Go on, try some.”

Saita removed the lid from the bottle and the scent immediately assaulted her nose. “What is this?”

“I believe the closest human word to this would be hot pepper?” Sash looked to Truhan. “Hot pepper?”

“Chilies.” He translated. “Are you trying to remove her tastebuds?”

Saita poured a little of the mixture onto her pinkie finger and stuck it in her mouth. Flavour. There was actual flavour hidden in the heat. She could taste this.

“I noticed that you typically shied away from our cooked food but would eat fruit without hesitation. I was wondering if you added a fruit mixture to cooked food if you would be able to enjoy food.”

“You’re experimenting on her? At the table?” exclaimed Danna.

“Anything is better than tasting ash every time I eat.” Said Saita as she poured some of the contents into the stew mixture.

You can’t taste?

She looked at Jethron and said. “Not really since the machine was added.”
The table turned to Jethron, and he blushed, apologising for Sedeath’s mental communication at the table.

For the first time in years, Saita was able to experience flavours in her food. Devouring the contents of her small bowl before Danna brought her a second, larger bowl, with a smile on her face.

“And here I thought it was my cooking.”

They ate dinner together in relative silence unless it was to ask someone to pass something from across the table. Once the food was eaten, those at the table were happily talking about the Games that would start tomorrow. Many here would be competing. Sash was a volunteer doctor and would also be at the events. Bahn would only be spectating this year as his doctor had strongly suggested he take it easy during this time. He would be sitting with his uncle and grandmother while the Games were running. Truhan was a translator and would also be with the royalty and guests.

“Saita which variant of Human do I speak to Lord Pura with?” he asked.

The tension at the table grew as they all looked at her. She shrugged and started rattling off in human to which Truhan nodded his head and said. “Ah, I get to practice my formal human. Fantastic. What does his wife speak?”

“Myla is not his wife. Myla is Karesh’s wife, and she speaks the same. Doran can speak all three dialects, so you don’t need to be concerned about him.”
She was silent for a moment before saying. “Could you give them a message from me? Since I cannot speak to them directly?”

“Oh course, what would you have me say to them?”

“I miss them.”

We have about 4-5 posts left of this book. Unsure whether I will take a break from Fell Dragon after this or not. We'll see. Book 4 is not for the faint of heart, as some fans can attest to, but is necessary if you want to know about Saita's history.

However, we aren't there yet, so I still have time to decide whether to take a break or continue. But until then. I hope you have enjoyed the read, and look forward to Friday!

For those of you just joining us, please note that this the third book in the Fell Dragon series. Follow this link to read the two earlier books:
Fell Dragon Book 1
Fell Dragon Book 2
Start of Book 3 here
As the series continues, it will combine with another book series I wrote. To avoid confusion about what is happening, introductory chapters will be introduced separately so that you don't have to be lost. However, these chapters will contain spoilers. You can find these chapters here:
Races Explained
Banishment
Royal Guard
Saasha’s Direct Family
If you want to join the Reader's list, just ask or follow me for updates on this and my other stories.

Reader's List
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @dibblers.dabs, @beeber, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet, @alonicus, @joetunex, @zakludick , @thinkrdotexe , @pixelhuntersam

Haven't read the other parts yet? Follow these handy links:
Part 32>>You are Here>>Part 34

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency