An Awkward Yeasty Position

screely_1646163359174.png

I am nervously searching through my older sister's room and hoping she doesn't come upstairs now. I must find the book! Enya and I usually trade novels and read. We would even borrow from friends and share with each other. We are both bibliophiles and love reading but I think she loves them more.

Yesterday, Enya returned from her boyfriend's with a thick, hardcover book tucked under her arm and raced to her room before I could ask her what the book was. I think she's hiding something about that book. She's always jittery when she has something to hide. If she won't share the book or let me in on the secret, then I must find the book.

I slip into her room when she steps out to go buy something from the store opposite our house. I was not expecting her to return so soon.

At the sound of approaching footsteps, I gasp and scurry into the big wardrobe, push apart her string of clothes on hangers and hide behind them. The clothes are my cover but I peep through them and through the slit by the wardrobe door to see what Enya is up to.

The harsh sound of my breathing filled the quiet wardrobe and I could feel my chest heaving. It's Enya's room after all and she must not catch anyone sniffing around her room, especially her youngest sister.

Enya appears at the wardrobe's slight opening, holding the thick book in her hand and reading from it.

"Mmhm…a pinch of salt,...uh, a teaspoon of yeast?" Enya murmurs.

Huh? Is it a grimoire or is she reading a grocery list from it? I wonder and peer through the opening to see more when unexpectedly, I fall towards the door and out into the room, face down on the rug.

Enya shrieked in fear.

"Sorry! Sorry, it's just me," I quickly say before she draws unwanted attention from the house and makes everyone think I was a thief.

"Ada!" Her eyes widen in disbelief. "What's wrong with you? What were you doing inside my wardrobe?" She drops the thick book on the table.

I grimace and stand up awkwardly from the floor, glance at the book on the table and smile sheepishly. This is awkward! I see it's a cookbook.

"I-uh-I wanted to see the book you brought back from Stephen's."

Enya stares at me incredulously before bursting out in laughter. She laughed for a while and all I could do was stand and watch.

Not my finest moment, I must admit.

1615528867_16681.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my piece. This freewrite is inspired by the prompt "yeast". Join the @freewriters community to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest. You are invited to participate.

Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now