Laundry Day -5minutefreewrite

For @mariannewest/day-1944-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-laundry-day

Yoooo! Laundry day!

Went to the laundromat with my mother-in-law the other day. My wife was still testing positive for covid. They usually go together. I dunno if they do anything different than we did. We got the stuff in the wash, then she went to call her other daughter and have a chat, and I called my mom and had a chat, then we reconvened to move things to the dryers, then sat quietly and stared at our phones until it was all done.

That's all really. She had laundry on different timers, so she was up and down more. I had it all done at the same time. What else. Oh, yes. We called our mortgage broker together and talked to her about loan contingencies. So we didn't sit quietly on our phones. That's what we did during the drying process, and it was loud. There were lots of sirens going by.

Oh speaking of sirens. Yesterday, another one of the houses on our block got burned. I blame the developers, who bought it in May 2020, and have left it vacant for nearly 3 years. I really hate that they just buy empty houses and leave them empty while people are living in cramped quarters. It was such a beautiful house when the older woman who lived there sold it. We wished we could live there... but she sold it for over a million dollars. Just tragic. And then

Oh, it just makes me so angry.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center