#Maynia Day7 -- Don't You Cry No More

41irx7.jpg

Maynia Day #1
Maynia Day #2
Maynia Day #3
Maynia Day #4
Maynia Day #5
Maynia Day #6

Maynia -- Day Seven -- 2,065 words



The 11-81 didn't prove to be serious as we waited for the medical services to see to him. The guy was going on about how a giant black shadow seemed to have surrounded his windshield causing him to crash into a nearby tree. He didn't seem to be on anything, and after the medics carried him off to treat him for a sprained elbow and possible concussion, I already left the Deputy in charge of handling the crash site.

Nothing much happened during my afternoon since then, but I was left second-guessing myself every now and then if Ms. Shiela was already back at her home so I can give back this bottle of wine of hers. Who am I kidding? I could just drop it off with Ms. Chip and be on my way. Not really wanting to accept the fact that I just wanted to see Ms. Shiela again, I chalked it up to wanting to thank her properly for getting my father off my back earlier, even though it was only for that afternoon. Truth be told, I was kind of looking forward to picking her up for the inauguration tomorrow.

It was an hour past sunset when I was already taking the last turn towards her house that my phone started ringing for an incoming call, answering it on speaker mode, I heard Luke's voice come through, “Hey Jack! You mind being home alone tonight? Z and I just got somewhere to be.”

“No problem man, I'm also planning to stop by somewhere before calling it a day.” I was just about to end our call, when I spotted two familiar figures on Ms. Shiela's porch as I started pulling up on her driveway.

“Hey Luke, that somewhere you mentioned, which place is it exactly?” I squinted my eyes at the figures as I took my phone and grabbed the wine bottle before starting to head out.

“Uh-you remember Ms. Chip, our new neighbor from last week right? Well, she was nice enough to cook for us tonight. Tell you what, how about we bring home some of Ms. Chip's amazing lasagna just so you don't miss out.” Luke said as he still had his back turned to me, as I saw Z press the doorbell.

“Sure, sounds great. One more thing Luke, I'm just curious if you've already met a woman there named Shiela Lancaster?” Not really waiting for his answer, I closed my car door with a thump that finally got his attention as he turned around to the source of the sound. Lasagna my ass, you don't go eating at an old lady's house bringing those kinds of flowers.

I snickered at Luke's expression, like a kid caught with his hand in the cookie jar. Before I glanced at Z behind him, who didn't seem to have heard my arrival. Not that I blame him, seeing at who he was focused on as the door opened and revealed Ms. Shiela.

Definitely a sight for sore eyes. I thought, as I took her in wearing a strappy green dress that showcased her toned legs and slender arms. I watched as her amused expression turned into curiosity as she regarded Luke, then questioningly as she now noticed me.

She blinked once before a look of shock registered her face as she asked out loud, “Wait. Do you three know each other???”

border.png

“And here I thought you just had two varieties.” Ms. Chip told me teasingly with a poke to my side as she glanced inside the adjacent dining area from the kitchen’s entryway, looking at the three guys who now sat in awkward silence around the circular dining table.

“Yeah. Who knew right?” I said dryly at her as I rolled my eyes at the silliness of this situation. “It’s a good thing you’ll be with me to diffuse the tension.” I continued offhandedly as I made way to get the dishes Ms. Chip cooked for tonight’s dinner. Looks like she cooked for an army here. Cooking her signature lasagna was one thing, but seeing the three other plates of food she also prepared had me feeling full all of a sudden.

“Who me?” Ms. Chip asked me almost innocently as she pointed at herself. Suddenly, I knew what she was up to next. And I proved myself correct when Ms. Chip started stretching her arms and made a show of cracking her back. “You know what Shiela? I’m feeling tired all of a sudden, maybe I’ll go up and rest my achy back a little.”

I just about opened my mouth to protest when she was already heading out into the dining area and started saying her good night to the guys. I saw how all three of them stood to attention in greeting and Dr. Luke even worriedly asked her, “Is everything alright, Ms. Chip? Are you hurt anywhere?”

“Why don’t you sit down and rest a while, Ms. Chip?” Sheriiff Heins moved to pull a chair out for her.

“Why not have something warm before going to bed, Ms. Chip? It helps me rest easy most days.” I briefly thought Mr. Clancy was actually suggesting Ms. Chip to have a swig of alcohol, but seeing the genuine concern reflected in his warm hazel brown eyes had me second guessing myself.

“You boys are just too thoughtful, but sometimes a nice old lady like me just needs her beauty sleep!” I swear Ms. Chip almost giggled at the attention she was getting right now. “Why don’t you boys just do me a favor and help Ms. Shiela set up the table and bring the food out here?” Now she let out a real giggle as she called for Jaden to accompany her. “Jaden sweety, let’s go up and I’ll let you play with that squealing chicken of yours, that sound nice?”

Jaden, who at that time was cozying up to Dr. Luke by rubbing himself on the doctor’s pants, suddenly perked up at the thought of his favorite squeaker toy and made a mad dash towards Ms. Chip. “We don’t want to disturb your mistress now do we?” I almost heard her whisper close to Jaden after she scooped him up and started carrying him away. “I made dessert in the fridge, kids! Help yourself to it and play nice.” She called out one last time, briefly giving me a wink, before disappearing down the hall.

The thought of dessert usually perked me up, but it didn’t help in lightening my mood this time around. Traitors, the both of them. I grumpily thought as I gripped the edge of the kitchen island. Focusing back on my now three guests, I glanced towards them and was met with three sets of intense stares. Ah shit. I guess four can play this game.

I smiled slowly back at them and proceeded to grab the pan of lasagna before heading straight towards them. “Well you heard Ms. Chip, grab a dish and let’s get eatin’. I’m starving.”

border.png

“So let me get this straight, you were the guy who jumped right in front of my car last night, right?” I regarded Mr. Clancy almost accusingly as we were all halfway with our dinner. Time to break the ice.

“Slow down there doll, you were the one who almost ran me over. I was actually just coming out from our house.” Mr. Clancy looked at me amusedly as he took another forkful of lasagna, “Mmmhhm damn can Ms. Chip cook!” he stated happily, even briefly closing his eyes in rapture.

I narrowed my eyes at his statement though and continued asking, “What exactly were you doing out in the rain at that time of night?”

Before he could answer my question, Dr. Luke butted in, “It’s just silly really, Z here just thought of dancing in the rain as if we were still kids.” He remarked as I caught the look of uncertainty he exchanged with Sheriff Heins before his grey eyes landed on Mr. Clancy.

“Well Ms. Shiela, can you really blame me for the dullness these two housemates of mine seem stuck on?" Mr. Clancy gestured to the two other men. Wait, housemates?

As if reading my thoughts, Sheriff Heins now decided to speak up, “The three of us actually live at the house by the turn down this road. The property’s been sitting unused under the family since ages, so you could say I decided to rent it out.” He seemed too focused on his food as he didn’t glance up, and looked uncomfortable talking about the subject, but Mr. Clancy continued from there.

“It’s a good thing too. The place is big enough for the three of us, but with Jack here not being able to come home most of the time, it’s mostly just me, Luke and his clinic.”

Seeing Dr. Luke tense at the mention of his clinic, I then took interest, “I don’t think you ever mentioned your specialty, Dr. Luke?” I smiled at him gently, seeing as he still looked at me with uncertainty, I also spied the two other men exchange a look.

Dr. Luke glanced down and started picking at the remnants of his plate as he tried for a nonchalant approach, “I’m a psychiatrist, or what you know, the town’s local shrink?” He smiled back at me but I saw the look in his eyes, as if he waited for me to judge him.

“I think that’s a very admirable job you’ve got there. Not everyone can fight the demons that nobody else can see, it’s good to know that Samheinrock has a capable doctor like yourself to turn to.” I looked at him softly as saw his and the others’ expressions turn to disbelief, as if they didn’t really expect that sort of reaction. I realized stigma was one thing for a small town like Samheinrock but they had to learn, if they let their fears come too close, it had the power to eat them up alive.

Wanting to lighten the mood, I then offered, “How about some dessert and a little late night drinking?” I asked as I promptly held out the bottle of wine. It was funny how Mr. Clancy’s mouth shaped into an O and unbelievingly exclaimed, “No way! You really took that seriously?”

I glanced at Sheriff Heins as he grinned back at me with mirth in his eyes, “Someone told me this was some pretty strong stuff. I guess I just wanted to give it a try.” I grinned as we all laughed.

border.png

“Urrg.. I can’t believe.. You made us walk here..” Mr. Clancy mumbled as Dr. Luke held him up whilst they walked out and wobbly headed towards the sheriff’s pickup.

Standing by the door as I watched them out, I dazedly glanced up at Sheriff Heins as he watched me with an amused expression on his face. Maybe I was a little tipsy, but I could sure as hell still wipe that smug look off his face.

“I think I also remember mentioning not to be fooled by that bottle’s label. You sure you can still climb those stairs up to your room?” He looked at me with concern as he reached forward and steadied me by my arms. This guy. Such a stickler for not even having a drop of that drink.

I smiled up at him and leaned closer, putting my hands on his strong shoulders for leverage as I slightly stood on my tiptoes and gave a quick kiss on his cheek as I slowly whispered into his ear, “Drive safely.” I leaned and couldn’t decipher the unreadable expression in his deep blue eyes, but I felt his hold on my arms tighten just slightly.

The moment was lost when Dr. Luke called back for the sheriff, so he regrettably let go of me as we both stepped away from each other; me inching slowly inside the door while I watched him give me one last glance before heading to his friends.

I shut my door and proceeded with putting the locks back in place just as I heard the sound of the car’s engine come alive. Leaning with my back now against the door, I tilted my head upwards as I closed my eyes, feeling a tear trail down the one side of my face.

Don’t get too close, Shiela.

to be continued...

border.png

Image from Pixabay, by Phan Minh Cuong An: https://pixabay.com/users/minanfotos-9565064/ (edited with dreamscopeapp)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency