#Maynia Day5 -- Don't You Cry No More

41irx7.jpg

Maynia Day #1
Maynia Day #2
Maynia Day #3
Maynia Day #4

Maynia -- Day Five -- 1,848 words



Pulling away from the driveway as Ms. Chip cheerily waved after us, I surreptitiously glanced at the time before deciding to get to know more about Ms. Shiela Lancaster.

“How about we grab something to eat on the way? My treat.” I made a quick glance at her before focusing my eyes back on the road.

I spied as she tilted her head towards me whilst she twirled a lock of her hair, “What did you have in mind, Sheriff?” Damn, I truly meant it when I said she was beautiful, but right now it was like she was pushing my buttons by asking me sultrily such a simple question.

Swallowing hard, I focused back on giving her a proper answer, “We've got a local dine 'n dash here that sells the best cheeseburgers, or they've got some salads if that's more up your alley..” I trailed off as I took into consideration her slim form. She's probably a picky eater.

“Cheeseburger sounds good.” She replied noncommittally, now showing more interest at the view outside her window as we took to the mountainside road. The way she changed position had me noticing her shapely legs though, almost making me miss the roadside turn.

Gripping the steering wheel, I felt a sudden irritation at the effect this woman had on me. Before I could even think more into it, I spitefully blurted out, “Is this the type of modus you pull on every town you've ever been to?”

“With all due respect, Sheriff Heins, but are you really asking me that question now?” Feeling her gaze focus back on me, I sensed that she didn't seem the slight bit fazed with my line of questioning, which only fueled my growing annoyance.

“I read up on you and your shady corporation, Lancaster Telecom Development starts swooping into a town just as some unrest or a series of unfortunate events starts happening there and the next thing you know, the citizens are back to their normal lives as if nothing bad ever happened in their town. Now you tell me what kind of voodoo magic you're planning on us people of Samheinrock, huh?!”

“Easy on the gas, tiger. We might encounter our own series of unfortunate circumstances before I even get to clear things up between us.” Easing up on the accelerator, I still found it unnerving how calmly she was handling herself as she continued speaking, “First off, I only had that Telecom Tower built because your father asked for it. I'm sure those mountainside accidents would have been prevented, had the drivers gotten a better chance at getting a proper signal around here.”

I was just about to tell her that there were no actual evidences pointing to that conclusion, when she raised her hand just to stop me from interrupting her, “And lastly, I'm only here for the inauguration of the tower itself. Are you also gonna question why I bought a house here? What if I’m actually planning on staying here a little while longer? Are you gonna antagonize me enough to make me want to leave soon?"

She left that last question hanging in the space between us, as I felt those emerald irises of her start drilling a hole in me. Suddenly the thought of her leaving just as soon as I was getting to know more about her, made my heart somehow ache.

I chalked it up to just being extremely tensed these last couple of days. Yeah, and maybe I’m just partly curious about the only heiress of a mysterious corporation. Thankfully, I didn’t have time to think more into it just as I caught sight of the handmade sign that said, Lou’s Tick & Tack Diner.

Clearing my throat as I chose not to answer her question, I then said, “We’re here.”

border.png

While Sheriff Heins started to put the car into park, I began to familiarize myself in my surroundings and focused on the diner. Tick & Tack had an open counter where customers took their finished orders to their cars, either to drive off or eat and lounge around in the breezy, open-air parking space. The few tables situated outside the establishment were already occupied and had a couple of servers already waiting on them.

“This place.. seems nice..?” I tried voicing out my sentiments but only heard the shut of the door as Sheriff Heins got out of the car. Thinking he probably wanted me to just stay put, I thought about settling there when the door to my side was opened.

“It looks tacky, but the food here is great. Are you coming or not?” Sheriff Heins held his hand out to me and I only hesitated a second before taking it. Although I miscalculated my way down and ended up tripping into his wide chest instead, causing him to hold me close as he steadied us both.

Tensing at the feel of his strong, warm body against my own, I slowly glanced up and saw that his cool blue eyes were now like a pair of deep blue flames. As if reading my thoughts, Sheriff Heins let go of me and backed off as if he was scalded. Promptly locking his car, he quickly turned and headed towards the diner’s direction without a word.

Releasing the breath I wasn’t aware I was holding, I started jogging a safe distance towards him. Best not to get too close.

border.png

I needed a distraction as I entered the diner. I knew I asked her to follow me here, but there was no way I was looking back at her now just to see how she looked back at me with those eyes of hers.

Clenching my jaw as I distractedly looked over the menu by the order counter, I then heard a familiar voice call out my name, “Heeyy Jacky! There’s nothin’ new on my menu, came here for your usual?”

Looking up, I saw the busty woman everyone here called ‘Mama Lou’, make her way towards me from the kitchen as she wiped her hands on her apron. “Make it two this time, please.” Feeling myself relax and smile at the older lady I’ve come to know since I was a teen.

“Oh? You got the boys with you?” She asked as she rang up my order, before looking behind me.

“Uh huh.. Who’s that pretty little thing you got with you?” It was then I turned around as Mama Lou gestured towards Ms. Shiela. The lady in question was thankfully distracted herself, as she looked at the different bottles of wine Mama Lou would sometimes make for the diner’s shop.

“Just a guest, she wouldn’t be here long.” I tried for a nonchalant answer as I reached for my wallet to pay for our orders but something caught my eye. “I see you’ve got these back on stock, huh?” I grinned as I reached for the displays.

“Took me a while to get back to making them, but I had a little too much fun making ‘em so those are just overstock.”

“Mind if I take two?” I asked as I proceeded handing her the bills for the total.

“Those toothpicks in a coconut are on the house, you seem to be the only one who finds an interest in them, and maybe the occasional tourist.” She handed me back the spare bills as I muttered my thanks, busy rotating the top half of the wooden coconut-shaped container that opened the three holes wherein you could shake out a couple of toothpicks. Yeah, I found the little trinket handy, and I loved the confused looks I got whenever I was seen shaking the wooden coconut.

“Uhm excuse me, I’d like to buy this please.” I heard Ms. Shiela as I glanced up and took notice of the bottle she was about to purchase.

“Don’t be fooled by its label, that’s some pretty strong stuff you’ve got there Ms. Shiela.” I warned her as I read the lettering which spelled Cucumber Wine, also remembering how a friend of mine almost got run over after drinking that stuff.

“So I’ve seen..” Ms. Shiela said almost to herself, but I still heard her. I frowned at the secret smile she had on her face at the mention of the said wine.

“A lady who can handle her liquor. I like you already.” Mama Lou gave me a quick wink as she rang up Ms. Shiela’s order and quickly had someone look over the cash register as she took to the kitchen for our orders.

Standing back as we let the other customers have their orders taken, I hesitated a moment before simply offering her the spare coconut I picked up from Mama Lou. “What’s this?” she asked, visibly taken aback. What? Did nice little gestures shock her now?

“It’s just something from Mama Lou’s. She doesn’t make them that often now, so it’s more or less a novelty.” I almost grumbled.

Adjusting the paper bag which held the wine she had in her arms, she slowly studied the little trinket before a grin spread on her face. “This is actually pretty cool! Thanks!” She looked up at me with a twinkle in her eyes and I couldn’t help the feeling of warmth from spreading through my chest.

“There’s also something I’ve been meaning to ask you..” Ms. Shiela trailed off after a few moments as I watched her take in the diner’s interior design while waiting. “Is this where you thought about all that ‘voodoo magic’ you were talking of back in the car?” Shit. She probably saw those weird wooden masks the diner had tacked on their walls.

I almost groaned at the irony of it all when I started hearing her soft laughter, “I was just teasing you Sheriff, you really need to lighten up a bit.” She said as she smiled up at me and this time, I couldn’t help but to smile back.

border.png

“Ugh.. I’m so stuffed.. I’d probably pass as your dad’s fat bodyguard by the time I get to meet him..” I groaned jokingly as I prepared to get off the car. We were now at the Mayor’s after having that great lunch at Mama Lou’s open parking space, whilst enjoying the mountainside view from the back of Sheriff Heins’ pickup. It’d probably be nice to see the distant city lights from up there.

Suddenly, the door to my side opened and there was Sheriff Heins now waiting for me to get off. Consciously making sure I don’t mess up this time, I was planning to just hop off when the sheriff gently held me by the waist and slowly lowered me to the ground.

The action caught me by surprise and I automatically held onto his shoulders for added support, only realizing I did so when I glanced up again and noticed how his deep blue eyes stared almost softly at me. Our little bubble was broken though at the boom of a loud voice.

“Jackson! It’s good to see you getting acquainted with Ms. Lancaster!”

to be continued...

border.png

Image from Pixabay, by Phan Minh Cuong An: https://pixabay.com/users/minanfotos-9565064/ (edited with dreamscopeapp)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency