#Maynia Day2 -- Don't You Cry No More

41irx7.jpg

#Maynia Day1

Maynia -- Day Two -- 1,775 words



Thirsty. I felt thirsty as I sneaked in from the back door of our kitchen for a quick glass of water. Dad was still probably looking for me in the park, we were playing Hide & Seek, but no worries I’ll just get a quick sip!

Whimpering from the living room. I silently laid my glass down as I decided to follow the source of the sound. More sobbing as I got closer. “Was that mom?” I thought, not daring to voice out my question. Closer still, I heard rustling, it was a loud sound like something big was going through the floors and walls of our house.

Scared and crouching on my hands and knees, I began to crawl the short hallway from our kitchen towards the entryway of our living room. “Need to find mom, she’ll keep me safe.” But just from the entryway, I saw mom. She was lying on the floor, her face the only thing I could see because our big sofa was blocking the rest of her. But what I really noticed was the blood on her face, her eyes staring unblinkingly towards the entryway but I wasn’t sure if she saw me, or if she was still alive.

Then I heard the voice, I’d never forget how it sounded. Each word felt like it was creeping into your soul as it slowly asked in its gravelly voice, “What are you most afraid of?”

My mom’s eyes were suddenly now alive with terror as she screamed, “Shiela! RUN!!!”

border.png

Gasping for breath, I suddenly woke up in a cold sweat. A dream, that was all it was. Just like my past. Feeling myself tangled in my sheets, I started kicking them off before realizing I was probably kicking Jaden off the bed too.

Sitting up and checking the floor for any signs of the black feline, I sighed in relief when I saw none. But that’s when I heard the ruckus going on downstairs. Swiping my silver knife from under my pillow, I thought twice before deciding to take my Colt too from under the bed.

Soundlessly going down the stairs, I rounded the corner to the kitchen and wasn’t prepared for the sight that greeted me. Ms. Chip was up and about cooking and fretting over Jaden like what the hell?

“Shiela! A good morning to you too, seeing as you’re armed to the teeth this early in the morning!” Ms. Chip finally noticed me as I awkwardly tried to put away my weapons.

“Why don’t I get these to go while you prepare and wear that fancy get up I arranged for you in your room? I’m sure the townspeople wouldn’t mind a pretty lady like you dropping by the vet in something chic.” Ms. Chip continued with her tirade as she prepared our breakfast before handing me a cup of coffee.

“What vet? What’s wrong with Jaden?” Sipping from my mug for some much needed morning fuel, I slowly crouched down and examined Jaden.

“He’s been coughing up a storm ever since he went in here. I think it’s the fungus out back that’s taken a toll on him..” Ms. Chip remarked as she worriedly glanced at the cat.

Spying the clock on the wall, I counted the hours I had left before my meeting with the Mayor. And as if Ms. Chip read my mind, she went on with saying, “Your appointment’s at 2PM sharp. You can drive your old trunk to the carwash and walk the next block to Dr. Bliant to get Jaden checked. I’m sure the sweet, old doctor won’t mind you waiting there for the time being.”

Talk about having your day planned out for you. Jeez. Standing straight, I gulped down the rest of my coffee and already turned around to head upstairs before glancing back, “Oh and Ms. Chip, since it was nice of you to plan my day for me, why don’t you go the extra mile and remember not to refer to my car as an “old trunk” next time?” I tried smiling sweetly at her but I guess it turned out as a grimace since Ms. Chip only looked at me sourly in return.

Rolling my eyes, I continued my way back to my bedroom. Not a lot of people appreciate the caliber of a Lexus LS400, most of them just take one look at it and say it’s an old piece of metal.

Glumly, I entered my bedroom and noticed for the first time the get up Ms. Chip was talking about. I felt myself frown at the sight of the pair of high heels but then a thought suddenly struck me. Maybe some old things need new concepts. That thought had me smiling the next second.

border.png

“Shiela Alexandra Lancaster! You are not going to meet the mayor in those boots!” Ms. Chip called after me as I started my car. Checking to see how Jaden was holding up in his carrier on the passenger seat, I then turned to answer Ms. Chip outside the car window, “I decided to wear the skimpy skirt, isn’t that enough?”

I gave her a kissy face before my car window rolled up and I was pulling out of the driveway. I gave Jaden another quick glance before putting on my sunglasses, I hope that Dr. Bliant is good enough to get you better..

border.png

Stepping outside my car, I pushed my sunglasses up on my head and surveyed the small busy place. My eyes settled on the gaudy sign just outside the entryway indicating this place as Mike’s Carwash & Auto Repair before I noticed the bulky man heading my way.

“Welcome to Mike’s! What can I do for you, beautiful?” Mike it turns out, as I spied the nametag he had on, was a head shorter than me and couldn’t decide whether to look at my knee-length high boots or just couldn’t stare anywhere higher than up my boobs. What a creep.

“I need her washed and ready to go in an hour and a half, can you have it done by then?” I resisted the urge to crouch down a bit so that he’d look me in the eye and just raised my handbag up to my chest in a show of digging my wallet out of my bag. Or maybe just bash him on the head with it.

Fortunately, as if he read my mind, he snapped out of his reverie and tried for a suave approach, “Sure thing, doll. The shop’s busy for the day, but I got some backup arrivin’ here any minute now.” He finished lamely as I handed him a couple of bills as payment.

“Keep the change. I need to get my cat to the vet, I hope your backup won’t arrive late.” Rounding the car, I scooped out Jaden’s carrier before locking it. Mike was starting to strike up another conversation saying something about “Good ole’ Dr. Bliant” but I kept walking and gave him a wave of thanks before heading out of the garage-type shop.

border.png

Turns out, the address to Dr. Bliant’s veterinary clinic lead to a two-story home, I only knew this was the right place when I spied “The Doctor is IN” sign on the front door. I rang the doorbell twice before I heard quick footsteps approaching from the other side, accompanied by what sounded like a deep voice saying, “In a minute!” Hmmm.. Doesn’t sound like Dr. Bliant is that old.

Holding Jaden’s carrier in both my hands, I started to lean in close to the door as I heard the locks being pulled back. Imagine my surprise when I was greeted by the sight of a blond-haired, grey-eyed Adonis at the door.

I blinked once, then twice before I spoke up, “Uh, Dr. Bliant right?” He gave me a charming smile in return, his grey eyes showing clear amusement. This was definitely NOT the good ole’ Dr. Bliant.

“That’s right, I’m Dr. Lucas Bliant, but calling me Dr. Luke is fine. And you are?” He asked me good-naturedly, still with amusement clearly written on his face.

Not really used to giving out my name to complete strangers, no matter how good looking they may look, I cut straight to the chase, “I’m actually here for my cat, Jaden. He seems to be sick.” I pointed out as I slightly raised his carrier in my arms.

Surprisingly showing genuine concern this time, Dr. Luke proceeded to take Jaden from my arms as he further remarked, “Oh, you must be referring to my grandfather, Dr. Alfred Bliant. Here, come this way.” He said as he led into the waiting area. I knew he was no “Good ole’ doctor” but “good looking” fits the criteria well.

Once inside, I noticed that the first floor was renovated into a clinic, with a small reception area by the door, a wide waiting area on the other side of the room, and a small hallway that must be where the older Dr. Bliant treated his patients. Spotting an Authorized Personnel Only sign on one of the doors near the back room, I deduced that maybe that was where the second floor headed to.

“Why don’t you take a seat here and let me take Jaden to gramps. He’ll call you in a while shortly after he’s done with Augustus.” Nodding his head to the side at the mention of Augustus, it was then that I noticed we had another occupant in the room.

Said occupant was giving me the death glares as she surveyed me from head to toe, her beady eyes flitting between me and Dr. Luke. “Help yourself to my gramps’ Almanac Collection while you wait.” Again, that charming smile of his was directed towards me and I sure as hell swear Beady-Eyed Lady intensified her death glare at me. Well hell, I’ve survived worse.

Finally deciding to reward Dr. Luke with a smile of my own, I turned and sauntered my way towards a chair closest to the Almanac-filled bookshelf. Sitting down, I momentarily caught Dr. Luke seemingly checking me out before he snapped out of it and proceeded towards his grandpa’s treatment room.

This gave me the chance to momentarily check him out and appreciate how his broad shoulders filled that white lab coat. I only realized I was biting my lower lip when my eyes suddenly landed on the disapproving look Beady-Eyed Lady was giving me.

Releasing my lip, I resisted the urge to roll my eyes and chose to focus my attention on the Almanac titles instead. God, I hope this isn’t gonna take long...

to be continued...

border.png

iamraincrystal.gif

Image from Pixabay, by Phan Minh Cuong An:https://pixabay.com/users/minanfotos-9565064/ (edited with dreamscopeapp)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency