A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words | It's Soft

I see a hawk rabbit | I feel nothing

image.png

"Ba," Ralf called to his older brother. "Ba, c'mere!"

The creature was unlike anything Ralf had seen. Nestled under the bench it stared at him without flinching. At first, he thought it was a rabbit, but no rabbit -

"Yea' Ralf?" His Ba said.

"Ba, you ever seen anythin' like that? It's like a rabbit... but...!"

"Great, dangling goose feathers... what is that thing?"

"It has a beak Ba."

"It has a beak, Ralfie, I see." He knelt near it. "What in tarnation..."

"You boys just gonna stand there leavin' me to - AAGH." Ma dropped her basket. "Kick it Ralf! It's a freak!"

"Calm down, Ma." He fingered its ears. "It's soft..."

"I'm calling Pa!" And Ma was off.

"Whatever it is Ralfie." Ba said with a smile. "It's lost. We'll help it. I'm sure Pa will want to keep it."

"He will show it to Brother Jon, mhm." Ralf nodded

"Ma just makin' a scene."

"What's takin' 'er so long ya think?"

"Probably gon' at it with the old man. I told ya, stop gon' in their room at night!"

"I know." Ralf blushed something fierce. "Let's see if it'll eat any carrots, Ba. While we're waiting for Pa 'n Ma."

Where did that man run off to. Ma thought, irritated as she left their barn. if he's with that skank from downriver, I'll throw him in the river! She didn't need him to get rid of that pest anyhow. She grabbed her biggest broom and stalked towards the carrot patch. Those boys always getting themselves into trouble.

As she entered their fields she slowed her pace. It was... quiet. Still, rather. There was no wind even though the sky was pitch black with storm clouds. And it was still light enough to spot the boys. Have those idiots taken the damned thing in? She ran down the fields now, anger boiling. "If one more stray enters my -"

They were gone. Gone.

"Boys?" She shouted. "Boys where'd you go?"

Nothing.

"Boys?"

They were just here... The bench was empty and -

Their clothes... they were everywhere. But the boys...

"Boys?"

No one answered.

headers copy.png

Thanks for reading crew! ๐Ÿ˜ค

This post is a @freewritehouse #APictureisWorthAThousandWordsck contest. Hope you enjoyed it and have a nice day!

๐Ÿ‘Š Follow me on my HIVE blog | Twitter ๐Ÿ‘Š

๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ™Œ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center