Huge Impact, a five minute freewrite

When it came the whole house shuddered and the urn containing Grandmother fell off the mantle piece and scattered her all over the living room floor.

It might have been funny in another time.

Cowering under the dining table I looked at my brother's terrified face and thought that we might have shared a smirk or even a chuckle if we didn't think we were about to die.

They'd been warning it had been coming. A visitor from the stars on collision course with the Earth. It was due to impact about fifty miles away and we'd been told to evacuate, even though to me and my brother fifty miles was like the other side of the world.

But we couldn't have gone anywhere even if we had wanted to leave the only place we had ever known. I couldn't drive and we didn't have a car anyway. All the neighbours had left months ago - not because of the meteor strike, but because of the flooding - and there was no public transport.

To be fair, there hadn't been any public transport for years.

I vaguely remember Grandmother taking me on a bus once.

...

Screenshot 2024-10-21 11.52.52.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center