A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words - my entry for 1/22/2022

image.png

This is my entry for the #pic1000 contest to write a story based on this picture.


What I see

There is a blurred McDonalds in the background that looks like a typical town store. It appears in contrast to the graffiti under a concrete underpass that is onlooking. The graffiti isn't just a logo, it is making a statement with the McDonalds man like a Joker from a scary movie.

What I feel

I feel there is a big difference between the clean McDonalds in the background and the area of deprivation under the underpass. Two worlds living side by side causing tensions and resentment.

My story

I had been siting all day watching people come and go from McDonalds. It always amazes me the different types of people. The old and the young. The rich and the…

Well, I wish I had enough money for a burger. I can taste those delicious relishes in my mouth from just the thought of biting into one. The thought makes my mouth water.

But I have been sitting here day-in day-out asking for any spare change. I often get enough money for a decent meal by the afternoon but today has been a bad day. There is no reason or pattern to it. Some days I am just luckier than others. There had been a guy come in earlier who looked just like the type that would give me some change. I can usually read them well but instead of reaching into his pocket for change, he pushed me away hard until I fell over and landed painfully on the tarmac behind me. After that, I had been a bit more cautious for the rest of the day, so that hadn't helped get the money I needed.

Now I was hungry and getting desperate. The cold was not helping. A delicious burger or hot drink could help warm me up.

There were only 2 ways to get money and food. Beg. Or steal. Now I was driven to the latter approach. I didn't like to do things this way. But that is what hunger does to you.

So I sat here waiting for the perfect opportunity. Someone who couldn't fight back. Someone alone.

And here she came. She was alone and she had one of those open shoulder bags where her purse would be easy to snatch. She was carrying a drink and a paper bag of food. There was no one else around. The perfect opportunity.

I got up and walked towards her making it look like I was walking to the restaurant. At first she didn't see me but then she suddenly looked up and smiled at me. "Coffee?", she asked holding out the drink in her hand.

I was shocked. How I misread the situation!


Hope you liked the story! Until next time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center