FreeWrite: Red Braids

Pirates and Privateers.



Red Braids

We had a battle with Red Braids today, we... We lost Kenway in the battle.

Red Braids was the most dangerous pirate in this sea, but now he's turned into a government dog. He fights us for them, that traitor.

Why? He refused to cooperate with us all the time! We would've been the biggest pirates in the world if he just cooperated.

What made him a privateer? Is it money? Nah, probably for his village's safety. When we were on the same crew he always wore that nostalgic look.

Red Braids always was a scum, but I liked him. Now, I must kill him.

Kenway must be avenged.

Divider

The 5-Minutes Version

We had a battle with Red Braids today, we... We lost Kenway in the battle.

Red Braids was the most dangerous pirate in this sea, but now he's turned into a government dog. He fights us for them, that traitor. He refused to cooperate with us all the time. We would've been the biggest pirates in the world.

What made him a privateer? Is it money? Nah, probably for his village's safety. When we were on the same crew he always wore that nostalgic look. Red Braid always was a scum, but I liked him. Now, I must kill him.

Kenway must be avenged.


Divider


Author Notes:

This is an entry to Dreemport's FreeWrite Challenge. (Partner in the challenge: @penderis) - The prompt is taken from @daily.prompt's post Day 2116: Long Braid. #dailyfreeprompt

I didn't know what to write for the prompt "Long Braid" but then I thought of Long Beard, and thought it might work. This is a pirate story, based loosely on Blackbeard, though I used the term "Red Braids" because I thought it was cooler.

His braids could be either his head's hair or his beard, but I imagined them as beard braids as I'm writing this. Long braids.

As for Kenway, it's based on Edward Kenway, the Pirate main protagonist of Assissin's Creed IV and the grandfather of ACIII's Connor. I only had 5 minutes so I needed a quick fictional pirate name, and I didn't want to go with my first option "Shanks."

By the way, if you don't know what a Privateer is, look it up. It's basically a government-employed Pirate. I enjoyed reading the wikipedia page when I first learned about it.

What do you think

This is my second #FreeWrite this week. Check out my first one here: "Undertaking."

If you're new to my content, please check out my "Where to Start?" article You'll find a story you'll like in there for sure. For now, I leave you until we meet in another article.

Salam (Peace)


* Post's image was made using Canva.
* 10% of this post's rewards go to @ackza @master-lamps & @eturnerx as members of my Beneficiary Rotating List.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency