His Scornful Eyes Are the Best || A Cute and Fluffy Romance Manga

IMG_20240913_225319.jpg

Lately I've been busy with school stuff, so rereading has been my main thing since I can't explore for new recos due to my loaded schedules. Last night after arriving from school, I suddenly had the urge to read a wholesome story that would distract my tired self, and that's when I remembered this wholesome romance manga! So minna-san~ be with me as I share with you a manga recommendation that's about an odd girl with a weird fetish—because for her, His Scornful Eyes Are the Best.


IMG_20240913_225426.jpg

His Scornful Eyes Are the Best (Sagesumu Shisen ga Saikou desu) is a shoujo manga illustrated by Kurotsuki Yuu. It was first published on September 13, 2022, and finished on May 12, 2023. Its genres are comedy, romance, and slice of life, while its theme is school life. Unlike my first recommendation, which was gothic and dark, this manga is totally its opposite because this manga has definitely a sweet and fluffy romance. It's already completed with 8 chapters, so it's really best for casual manga reads in which you don't want to commit to longer ones. By the way, here's a brief peek at what this manga is all about.

IMG_20240913_225639.jpg

Rejecting a guy who confessed to him, Yoshino Uta, a first-year high schooler, revealed without hesitation that she's not into nice guys. She was after a girl with an unusual preference because she has a fetish for indifferent people! Finding a boy who suited her preference was sure difficult, but fortunately this girl with masochistic tendencies met the boy who stared at her with great indifference she's been yearning for.

IMG_20240913_225712.jpg

Narumi Kei was the usual boy with a bad personality. He talks bluntly and acts harshly, but these characteristics were something that Uta finds endearing. His usual indifferent gaze was something that really made Uta fall for him. However, getting close to him was sure a hard feat, even for Uta, who's known for her masochism. Will Uta find a way to get into this prickly boy's heart? Or will she realize how futile it is to chase after a person who only finds her nuisance?


IMG_20240913_225741.jpg

This manga is definitely a comfort romance, and like the short manhua I've finished before, this one's also satisfying. I'm not really anticipating an ending, but yeah—I like it when a romance manga ends fastly because I know things will complicate if it gets more chapters (haha). I also like how it only focused on the main ones and didn't strayed on other characters. As for the story's concern, I am satisfied that it was able to convey all of the important points of their plot. From introduction of the characters, emergence of the conflict, subtle character developments to a satisfying denouement—I was surprised that it achieved such feats in just 8 chapters.

IMG_20240913_230113.jpg

Its art style was the usual new school shoujo art style. Judging from its artstyle, my first impression about its story line was that it would be like the heavy romance drama, but it turns out that it's a fluffy romance with a hint of masochism. Its art style is really cute, and I like how neat its lineart is. All of the characters that I've seen there were all cute; even the annoying ones were drawn in an eye-pleasing way (for me—some side characters even have more attractive character design than the main lead). Its artstyle may not be that unique, but it definitely fits with its theme and genres.

IMG_20240913_230142.jpg

Like any other shoujo manga, there are definitely the exaggerated and unrealistic scenes. This manga is definitely a definition of an average shoujo manga with the bad boy and soft/weird girl trope. Since it's just an eight-chapter manga, I thought that the relationship development would progress quickly. But contrary to what I've expected, it was a slow-burn one. Their development just progressed in the later parts of it, but that doesn't hinder the author from delivering to the readers an ending that was both wholesome and hopeful. Overall, the plot may not be that gripping and thrilling, but if you want to read a casual romance with fluffy interaction and cute characters, then you really need to try His Scornful Eyes Are the Best.

IMG_20240913_230255.jpg


That's all for now, minna-san! Have you heard this manga before? Or was this your first time encountering this recommendation? Feel free to comment down your thoughts about it. Anyway, thanks for being with me 'til the end.

IMG_20240831_123159.jpg


Sources: Image 1 | Image 2 | Image 3 | Image 4 | Image 5 | Image 6 | Image 7 | Image 8 | Image 9

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center